THROUGH THE EYES OF… DAVID BRUNEL / Hot sun, late sun — The path of the waves — #1

Hot sun, late sun — The path of the waves —

If the image in Ancient Greece is born effectively from shadow, as related by Pliny the Elder (see Dibutades and his tracing of a shadow on the wall in Corinth, Natural History, Book XXXV), its cradle is entirely light. It is of this that the exhibition Hot Sun, Late Sun. Modernism Untamedseems to remind us in pointing, though pictures, from Van Gogh to Polke, that magnificent carrycot. The light lays a physical mantle upon the things and beings it envelops during its rectilinear passage. The rebound of colourwhich appears in the path of the (electromagnetic) waves (of the visible spectrum) activates the visible, awakens thought, sparks memory, which latter posts itself at the window – the curtain of feelings and emotions opens.

If light contains a physical side, namely brightness, it also possesses an emotional side: illumination. To light up and to “illuminate” go hand in hand (terminology borrowed from a grand master of light, Henri Alekan). Painters, photographers and film-makers know it well: light is their language, they speak (through) light, it is their own verb, their auxiliary being.

What we shall look at in these talks is that light, certainly, aids perception, but that – even more – it makes us think, it initiates the intelligible. The retina harvests its seeds, the mind sifts them, kneads them, introduces a raising agent (the imagination) and bakes the bread. Each of the paintings in this exhibition is a loaf which speaks to us of its origins – light – and of its destiny – imagination.

In front of these images, we will be like Incas before Inti. As Dylan Thomas writes: “Dark is a way and light is a place.”

David Brunel is a writer and photographer. He holds a PhD in aesthetic philosophy and psychoanalytical studies and is a qualified university lecturer. Dividing his time between Arles and Amsterdam, he teaches aesthetic philosophy, art history, the history of photography and critical analysis in various universities and art academies.

 

 Sigmar Polke, Lapis Lazuli II, 1994. Lapis lazuli and resin on canvas, 300 × 224.5 cm. Carré d’Art, Musée d’art contemporain, Nîmes

In the same category...

L’Œil de… David Brunel, « Soleil chaud, soleil tardif — Le chemin des ondes » #1

« Soleil chaud, soleil tardif — Le chemin des ondes », avec David Brunel #1

Si l’image gréco-romaine naît effectivement de l’ombre ainsi que le rapporte Pline l’Ancien (voir Dibutade et son tracé d’ombre sur le mur corinthien, Histoire naturelle, livre XXXV), son berceau est tout fait de lumière. C’est, semble-t-il, ce que l’exposition « Soleil chaud, soleil tardif. Les modernes indomptés » vient nous rappeler en pointant, par des images, de Van Gogh à Polke, ce magnifique couffin. La lumière dépose une robe physique sur les choses et les êtres qu’elle enveloppe lors de son passage rectiligne. Le rebond chromatique qui apparaît dans le chemin des ondes (électromagnétiques du spectre visible) active le visible, éveille la pensée, suscite la mémoire, laquelle vient se poster à la fenêtre — le rideau des sentiments et des émotions s’ouvre. 

Si la lumière comporte un versant physique, l’éclairement, elle possède également un versant émotionnel, la lumination. Éclairer et « luminer » vont de pair (terminologie empruntée à un grand maître de la lumière, Henri Alekan). Les peintres, les photo-graphes, les cinéastes le savent bien, la lumière est leur langue, ils parlent (par) la lumière, c’est leur verbe à eux, leur auxiliaire être.

Ce que les interventions à venir cibleront est que la lumière assiste certes le sensible, mais que, plus encore, elle donne à penser, elle amorce l’intelligible. La rétine récolte ses semences, l’esprit les raffine, les pétrit, introduit un levain (l’imaginaire), et cuit ce pain. Chacun des tableaux de de cette exposition est une miche qui nous parle de son origine, la lumière, et de son devenir, l’imaginaire. 

Face à ces images, nous serons tels des Incas devant Inti. Et Dylan Thomas d’écrire : : « L’obscur est un chemin, la lumière est un lieu ».

David Brunel est écrivain et photographe. Docteur en philosophie esthétique et études psychanalytiques, qualifié maître de conférences, il vit entre Arles et Amsterdam. Il dispense des cours en philosophie esthétique, histoire de l’art, histoire de la photographie et analyse critique dans diverses universités et écoles supérieures d’art.

Photo : Sigmar Polke, Lapis-Lazuli II, 1994. Lapis-lazuli et résine sur toile, 300 × 224,5 cm. Carré d’Art, Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes

 

Dans la même catégorie...