My Van Gogh with Bernard Picon

Throughout the year, Bice Curiger invites prominent figures from the world of the arts to talk about an aspect of the life and work of Vincent van Gogh that holds particular meaning for them.

Van Gogh and Cézanne : landscape concepts and life stories

The intimate injunction to talk about ‘my Van Gogh’ rather than Van Gogh prompts me to review some of the feelings and personal thoughts inspired by 40 years of sociology and by walks through the Aix and Arles countryside ‘in the footsteps’ of Cézanne and Van Gogh. 

Is the difference in the way in which these two painters treat the light of the South connected to the difference – pronounced, to say the least – in their respective degree of immersion in the local region and community? Why are Aix and its environs often described by the media as ‘Cézannian sites’, whereas the surroundings of Arles are never branded as ‘Van Gogh-ian’?
From rejection to adulation. Looking at different studies, we find that the social mechanisms of devaluation–revaluation of an artist or a territory depend on cultural and symbolic arguments that are practically identical.

Bernard Picon is a sociologist and Emeritus Research Director at the CNRS. He lives in Arles, where he has established an interdisciplinary research team studying environmental issues from the point of view of human-nature interactions. In 2008 he published L’espace et le temps en Camargue.

Photo credit:
Vincent van Gogh, The Harvest, June 1888
Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam (Vincent van Gogh Foundation)

Mon Van Gogh avec Bernard Picon

06 janvier 2015

Tout au long de l’année, Bice Curiger, directrice artistique de la Fondation, invite des personnalités du monde de l’art et de la culture à prendre la parole sur un aspect de l’œuvre et de la vie de Van Gogh qui les touche particulièrement.

Van Gogh et Cézanne : imaginaires paysagers et histoires de vie

L’injonction intimiste d’évoquer « mon Van Gogh » plutôt que Van Gogh m’incite à rendre compte de quelques sensations et réflexions personnelles inspirées par 40 ans de sociologie et de promenades dans les campagnes aixoises et arlésiennes « sur les pas » de Cézanne et de Van Gogh. 

Par comparaison, la différence de traitement de la lumière du Sud par ces deux peintres est-elle en rapport avec leur immersion locale et sociale pour le moins contrastée ? Pourquoi les paysages aixois sont-ils souvent qualifiés par les médias de « sites cézanniens » alors que la campagne arlésienne n’est jamais estampillée « van goghienne ? » Du rejet à l’adulation. En s’appuyant sur différentes recherches, on constate que les mécanismes sociaux de dévalorisation-revalorisation d’un artiste ou d’un territoire relèvent d’argumentaires culturels et symboliques pratiquement identiques.

Bernard Picon est sociologue et directeur de recherche émérite au CNRS. Il vit à Arles, où il a constitué une équipe de recherche interdisciplinaire sur la question environnementale envisagée du point de vue des interactions Homme-Nature. Il a notamment publié L’espace et le temps en Camargue, en 2008.

Crédit photo :
Vincent van Gogh, La Moisson, juin 1888
Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam (Vincent van Gogh Foundation)

Informations pratiques :

PUBLIC

: Tous publics

Dans la même catégorie...