Screening – Long Story Short

On 15 July, the Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles will be hosting the event Long Story Short. Long Story Short is a selection of short films from Georgia, dating back to the 1930’s until today. The selection covers film made within early Soviet times, during mid-Soviet times and shortly after the collapse, as well as pictures the contemporary rural Georgia and its social – political position.

This screening evening offers a rare opportunity to discover a too little displayed Georgian cinema, while its diversity shows a remarkable dynamism

This anthology is offered by Elene Abashidze (b.1987), a freelance curator, writer and editor living and working in Tbilisi, Georgia. After graduating from MFA Curating Contemporary Art, Goldsmiths in 2014, she returned to Georgia and since then works in public and commercial sectors of exhibition making. She is a co-founder and co-editor of a bilingual critical magazine Danarti (www.danarti.org).

These are silent films or with English subtitles.

 

Film selection in order:

Buba by Nutsa Gogoberidze, 1930 (39 min)
Kolga by Michael Kobakhidze 1967 (20 min)
Temo by Lasha Tskvitinidze, 2018 (30 min)
Xitana by Sophio Medoidze, 2018 (6 min)

 

Biographies:

Nutsa Gogoberidze – (b. 1902 – d. 1966) was the first female film director in Georgia. Her film Buba belongs is of propaganda nature. It was held at a Russian film archive for decades and was reclaimed by Georgia as their cultural heritage only in 2016.

 Michael Kobakhidze – (b. 1939) is a Georgian screenwriter, film director, actor and composer. A Retrospective of his work was held at the 1996 Venice Film Festival.

 Lasha Tskvitinidze – (b.1988) is a young screenwriter and film-director from Georgia. Author of an award winning I’m Beso (2014). Temo is his most recent work, yet to be premiered in 2019.

Sophio Medoidze is artist and writer living in London. She studied fine art at Goldsmiths College (MFA) and Photography at the London College of Communication (MA). Recent exhibitions include Kunstmuseum Luzern, Switzerland, Sixty-eight Institute Copenhagen DK, as well as screenings at the B-movie cinema, Hamburg, Whitechapel Gallery, London and Avanca film festival, Portugal.

 

 And in September 2019 (date to be confirmed later) :

The Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles will show the emblematic film My Grandmother (1929, 80 min) by the actor and film director Kote Mikaberidze (1861-1973). He worked on with artist Irakli Gamrekeli, Kadjeti and other. His work has been shown throughout various festivals, institutions and museums of former USSR and Europe.

 

 

Photo : My Grandmother, 1929, by Kote Mikaberidze; Courtesy of National Archives of Georgia.

Projection de films géorgiens – Long Story Short

Le 15 juillet prochain à 21h30, la Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles accueille l’événement Long Story Short regroupant un ensemble de courts et moyens métrages géorgiens réalisés entre les années 1930 et aujourd’hui. Cette sélection présente ainsi des films créés pendant et après la période soviétique, mais aussi des films explorant la Géorgie rurale contemporaine et sa situation sociale et politique.

La soirée de projection proposée par la Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles offre une opportunité rare de découvrir le cinéma géorgien, trop peu présenté, et sa diversité, qui témoigne d’un dynamisme remarquable. Une deuxième soirée organisée en septembre permettra de découvrir également un long métrage.

Ce florilège d’œuvres cinématographiques est proposé par Elene Abashidze, curatrice, autrice et éditrice géorgienne. Née en 1987, elle vit à Tbilissi en Géorgie, où elle est revenue s’installer en 2014 après avoir obtenu son diplôme en Curating Contemporary Arts au Goldsmiths College à Londres. Elle y travaille à la réalisation d’expositions au sein d’institutions publiques et privées. Elle est également co-fondatrice et co-rédactrice du magazine bilingue Danarti (www.danarti.org).

Les films sont sous-titrés en anglais ou muets.

 

 

Films présentés :

Buba de Nutsa Gogoberidze, 1930 (39 minutes)
Kolga de Michael Kobakhidze, 1967 (20 minutes)
Temo de Lasha Tskvitinidze, 2018 (30 minutes)
Xitana de Sophio Medoidze, 2018 (6 minutes)

 

Biographies des artistes :

Nutsa Gogoberidze (1902-1966) est la première femme devenue réalisatrice en Géorgie. Son film de propagande Buba a été conservé pendant des décennies dans une cinémathèque russe avant d’être récupéré par la Géorgie en 2016, en tant que patrimoine culturel.

Michael Kobakhidze (né en 1939) est un scénariste, réalisateur, acteur et compositeur géorgien. Une rétrospective de son travail a été présentée lors du Venice Film Festival en 1996.

Lasha Tskvitinidze (né en 1988) est un jeune scénariste et réalisateur géorgien. Il est notamment l’auteur du film primé I’m Beso (2014), et son dernier film, intitulé Temo, sera diffusé en 2019.

Artiste et autrice vivant à Londres, Sophio Medoidze a étudié les beaux-arts au Goldsmiths College et la photographie au London College of Communication. Son travail a récemment été exposé au Kunstmuseum Luzern en Suisse, au Sixty-eight Institute de Copenhague, et ses films projetés au B-movie Cinema à Hambourg, à la Whitechapel Gallery à Londres et à l’Avanca Film Festival au Portugal.

 

Également en septembre 2019 (date confirmée ultérieurement) :

La Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles projettera l’emblématique film My Grandmother (1929, 80 min) du réalisateur Kote Mikaberidze (1861-1973). Ce dernier a notamment travaillé avec l’artiste Irakli Gamrekeli et créé le film Kadjeti. Son travail a été projeté dans de nombreux festivals, institutions et musées de l’ancienne Union Soviétique et d’Europe.

 

Photo : Kolga (1966) de Michael Kobakhidze. Courtesy : Kobakhidze et Georgian National Film Center.

Dans la même catégorie...