Opening exhibition « Van Gogh Live! » 2014

‘VAN GOGH LIVE!’ was the title of the opening exhibition of the Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles.

On the one hand, it presented ‘Colours of the North, Colours of the South’, the first of a planned series of exhibitions about Van Gogh, curated by Sjraar van Heugten, and, on the other, it featured contributions by Guillaume Bruère, Raphael Hefti, Thomas Hirschhorn, Gary Hume, Bethan Huws, Bertrand Lavier, Camille Henrot, Fritz Hauser and Elizabeth Peyton, who have been invited by Bice Curiger.

On entering, BERTRAND LAVIER’s door, displaying Vincent van Gogh’s signature, appears as an initial sign of recognition from the building of the Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles. A second—RAPHAEL HEFTI ’s agglomerates of sparkling, multi-coloured glass on the translucent roof—evolves imperceptibly with the changes of daylight, playing on constantly new kaleidoscopic variations.

Exhibition Van Gogh Live 2014
Exhibition Van Gogh Live, “Colors of the North, Colors of the South”, 2014. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich
Exhibition Van Gogh Live 2014
Exhibition Van Gogh Live, “Colors of the North, Colors of the South”, 2014. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The major theme of this first in a series of exhibitions devoted to Van Gogh, ‘Colours of the North, Colours of the South’, retraces the evolution of his palette from darkness towards southern brightness, and presents some of his works alongside those of his contemporaries who had a decisive influence on him: Courbet, Pissarro, Monet and Monticelli, among others. This exhibition, which includes a dozen Van Gogh pieces, occupies the main hall on the first floor of the renovated building.

An important aspect of the presentation of the Van Gogh exhibition has been entrusted to the British artist GARY HUME: the choice of the colouring of the walls. As a refined colourist—a fact which his paintings amply attest—Hume thus establishes a genuine artistic dialogue with Van Gogh.

Van Gogh embodies a widespread myth of the artist, which is particularly present in popular culture. It is thus a strange twist of fate to see this supposedly solitary, misunderstood figure become a perfect example of an artist who can be “grasped by all”! Or else, in the words of Thomas Hirschhorn , the creator of an art for a “non-exclusive” public. In this respect, Van Gogh’s great popularity in Asia is highly significant: one of its main sources lies in the close study he made, at the turn of the nineteenth century, of Japanese artistic forms.

At the same time, Van Gogh personifies certain values which we still use today as markers. Hirschhorn calls them “autonomy” and “strength of transformation”. Whatever the case may be, such values are profoundly anchored in the modern conception of art.

Thomas Hirschhorn
Thomas Hirschhorn, “Indoor Van Gogh Altar”. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich
GARY HUME
Gary Hume, marbles. © Hervé Hôte

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For his new, large-scale piece in Arles, THOMAS HIRSCHHORN has projected himself into a young Japanese woman of today, who is obsessively fascinated by Van Gogh. For Thomas Hirschhorn, being a “fan” is an expression of positivity, a posture of love and an absence of prejudice. It is the opposite of nihilism and negativity. But it is also an act of resistance. Because this young woman, in a world where others enthuse about brands and consumption, has chosen Vincent. And so she finds herself in a chaotic situation of seeking out his essence, which slips out of view whenever she approaches it.

BETHAN HUWS
Bethan Huws, “Boats” © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich

 “Artists interpret the world and then we interpret the artists ”, proclaims a neon by BETHAN HUWS. Though produced outside of the context of “Van Gogh Live!”, this statement seems tailor-made for Van Gogh. It describes the sort of hiatus and switching of perspective from which art draws its lasting strength. With Bethan Huws, we wonder to what extent the worlds of Vincent (as he signed his pieces in Arles) and of us, his public, have changed over the uninterrupted history of his influence. And into what conditioning we have drifted, when it comes to perceiving his oeuvre. 

And when Bethan Huws’ glass-cases, with their “boats” made of rushes, are presented alongside Van Gogh, they may seem to some to be like cross-hatchings, lines that have become three-dimensional, or like a mischievous game that escapes from any genre: drawing or sculpture? To extend such questionings, Bethan Huws’ film ‘ Zone’ brings to mind Duchamp, for its captured shots of birds are just like “ready-mades”, presented by the artist as her interpretation of Apollinaire’s poem.

giom
Guillaume Bruère, drawings. © Hervé Hôte
Elizabeth Peyton
Elizabeth Peyton. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich

 

GUILLAUME BRUERE, alias GIOM, draws, while giving this form of expression an elementary appearance. His lines are agitated, vibrant and immediate, and the intensity of his colours also gives his work its great and varied expressive power. Without sacrificing to outmoded conceptions of expressiveness, Bruère has adopted drawing as a pictorial instrument, in a quest for a communicative friction with life—and with the public.

In the paintings of ELIZABETH PEYTON, intimacy and the evocative strength of the images also play a vital role, while deploying a subtle feel for psychology and atmosphere. Our attention is mainly drawn by her humans, flowers or still-lifes. These pieces’ rather small formats bank on the fact that they can develop into the power of glistening gemstones.

FRITZ HAUSER
Fritz Hauser, “Schraffur”, (Hachures) © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich

Schraffur, (‘Hatchings’) is the name that the percussionist FRITZ HAUSER has given to an important part of his work. For this exhibition, he has conceived a sound installation for the staircase of the  Fondation. Here, the hatchings have been made on the very silvery paint of the walls, with a variety of points, but also by quite literally using “scratchings” or “engravings”. The sounds and noises thus produced were recorded, then mixed, thus forming a sound installation in the stairwell. It then resonates as a sonic paraphrase of the engraving by the Japanese artist Utagawa Hiroshige, ‘Sudden Shower Over Shin-Ohashi Bridge and Atake’ (which Van Gogh himself paraphrased in one of this paintings) by playing on associations with rain.

 In an interview 1, CAMILLE HENROT  cites Van Gogh as a great source of inspiration, especially from the gestures he fixed in his paintings with their inner, physical agitation. In her ‘Dying living woman’ (2005), an adjusted “found footage”, the female character is constantly being obscured by the addition of scratches, “like a flame marking an absence”, which, in their form, also recall Van Gogh’s trees.

ikebana
Camille Henrot. Ikebana. © Hervé Hôte

There remains the question as to whether there is an inner core that can be approached, a question comparable to the one raised by Camille Henrot in her Ikebana work: ‘is it possible to be a revolutionary and like flowers?’ Does this reside in the still-vibrant force of attraction and the genuine, ever-thrilling pleasure in seeing that Van Gogh communicates to us, as he put it in a letter to his brother Theo on 25 September 1888? “While autumn lasts, I won’t have enough hands, canvases or colours to paint all I see that is beautiful.”

1 Catalogue of the Van Gogh Live! exhibition.

 

 

Catalogue published on the occasion of the exhibition

cat. inauguration analoguesVan Gogh Live!: inauguration

Click here to buy online

In the same category...

Exposition inaugurale « Van Gogh Live ! » 2014

Jusqu'au 31 août 2014

« VAN GOGH LIVE ! » est le titre de l’exposition d’ouverture de la Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles.

Elle présente d’une part « Couleurs du Nord, Couleurs du Sud », la première d’une série d’expositions prévues sur Van Gogh, dont le commissariat a été confié à Sjraar van Heugten, et d’autre part des contributions de Guillaume Bruère, Raphael Hefti, Thomas Hirschhorn, Gary Hume, Bethan Huws, Bertrand Lavier, Camille Henrot, Fritz Hauser et Elizabeth Peyton, à l’initiative de Bice Curiger.

Dès l’entrée, le portail de BERTRAND LAVIER  affichant la signature de Vincent van Gogh apparaît comme un premier signe de reconnaissance du bâtiment de la Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles. Un second – les agglomérats de verres multicolores et étincelants installés sur le toit de la verrière, œuvre de RAPHAEL HEFTI  – évolue imperceptiblement à mesure que progresse la lumière du jour, jouant de variations kaléidoscopiques toujours neuves.

Exposition inaugurale Van Gogh Live 2014
Exposition Van Gogh Live, « Couleurs du Nord, Couleurs du Sud », 2014. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich
Exposition inaugurale Van Gogh Live 2014
Exposition Van Gogh Live, « Couleurs du Nord, Couleurs du Sud », 2014. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Un aspect non négligeable de la présentation de l’exposition Van Gogh, a été confié à l’artiste anglais GARY HUME : c’est le choix de la teinte des murs. En coloriste raffiné – comme en atteste de la façon la plus convaincante son œuvre picturale – Hume établit ainsi un véritable dialogue artistique avec Van Gogh.

Van Gogh incarne un mythe très répandu de l’artiste, particulièrement reflété par la culture populaire. Curieuse ironie de l’histoire que celle de voir le soi-disant solitaire, l’incompris, devenir à ce point l’artiste « compris de tous » par excellence ! Ou, comme l’a formulé THOMAS HIRSCHHORN, devenir celui qui a créé un art pour le public « non-exclusif ». À cet égard, la grande popularité dont jouit Van Gogh en Asie est très significative : elle prend en grande partie sa source dans le regard fasciné qu’il a porté, à la fin du XIXe  siècle, sur les formes artistiques développées au Japon.

Parallèlement, Van Gogh représente la personnification de valeurs qui nous servent aujourd’hui encore de repères. Hirschhorn les nomme « autonomie » et « force de transformation ». Quoi qu’il en soit, ce sont des valeurs profondément ancrées dans la conception moderne de l’art.

Thomas Hirschhorn
Thomas Hirschhorn, « Indoor Van Gogh Altar ». © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich
GARY HUME
Gary Hume, marbres. © Hervé Hôte

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour sa nouvelle grande œuvre à Arles, Thomas Hirschhorn s’est projeté dans une jeune japonaise d’aujourd’hui, qui s’intéresse de façon obsessionnelle à Van Gogh. Être « fan », pour Thomas Hirschhorn, est l’expression d’une positivité, une posture d’amour et d’absence de préjugés. L’inverse du nihilisme et de la négativité. C’est également un acte de résistance, car la jeune femme, là où d’autres s’enthousiasment pour les marques et la consommation, a choisi Vincent. Et se retrouve, dans une situation chaotique, à rechercher son essence, qu’elle perd de vue à mesure qu’elle s’en approche.

BETHAN HUWS
Bethan Huws, « Boats », bâteaux en brins de jonc pliés. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich

Bethan Huws, « Boats », bâteaux en brins de jonc pliés. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich« Artists interpret the world and then we interpret the artists » proclame un néon de BETHAN HUWS. Bien que produite hors du contexte de « Van Gogh live ! », cette phrase semble taillée sur mesure pour Van Gogh. Elle circonscrit une sorte de hiatus et de renversement de perspective, où l’art puise sa force durable. Avec Bethan Huws, nous nous demandons dans quelle mesure le monde de Vincent (c’est ainsi qu’il signait ses tableaux à Arles) et nous-mêmes, son public, avons changé au cours de l’histoire ininterrompue de son influence. Et dans quel conditionnement vis-à-vis de son oeuvre nous nous sommes égarés.

Et lorsque les vitrines de Bethan Huws avec leurs bateaux en brins de jonc pliés sont présentées au voisinage direct de Van Gogh, elles apparaîtront peut-être à certains comme des hachures, comme des lignes devenues tridimensionnelles et comme un jeu facétieux hors des genres : dessin ou sculpture ? Pour prolonger cette interrogation, « Zone », le film de Bethan Huws, renvoie à Duchamp, car les captations filmées d’oiseaux sont autant de readymades que l’artiste présente comme sa lecture d’un poème d’Apollinaire.

giom
Guillaume Bruère, dessins. © Hervé Hôte
Elizabeth Peyton
Elizabeth Peyton. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich

 

GUILLAUME BRUERE, alias GIOM, dessine et donne à cette expression une apparence élémentaire. Le trait est agité, saccadé et immédiat, et l’intensité des couleurs confère à son œuvre une grande puissance expressive à plusieurs titres. Sans sacrifier à une conception dépassée de l’expressivité, Bruère s’empare du dessin comme d’un instrument pictural, à la recherche d’une friction communicative avec la vie – et avec le public.

 

Dans la peinture d’ELIZABETH PEYTON, intimité et force d’évocation des images jouent également un rôle capital, déployant un sens subtil de la psychologie et de l’atmosphère. L’attention est principalement dirigée vers les humains, les fleurs et les natures mortes. Les œuvres sont de format plutôt petit, ce qui parie sur le fait qu’elles développeront la puissance de gemmes flamboyantes.

FRITZ HAUSER
Fritz Hauser, « Schraffur », (Hachures) installation sonore. © Stefan Altenburger Photography Zürich

Schraffur, (Hachures) est le nom que le percussionniste FRITZ HAUSER donne à une part importante de son travail. Pour cette exposition, il a conçu dans l’escalier de la Fondation une installation sonore. Ici, les hachures ont été effectuées à même la peinture argentée des murs, avec diverses mines, mais aussi au sens premier du terme, en tant que « rayures » ou « gravures ». Les sons et les bruits produits, enregistrés puis mixés, composent désormais une installation sonore dans l’escalier. Et apparaît comme une paraphrase sonore de la gravure japonaise de Utagawa Hiroshige, « Le Pont Ohashi et Atake sous une averse soudaine » (que Van Gogh a lui-même paraphrasée avec l’un de ses tableaux) en jouant des associations avec la pluie.

Dans un entretien1, CAMILLE HENROT cite Van Gogh comme une grande source d’inspiration, notamment les gestes fixés par les tableaux et leur agitation intérieure et psychique. Dans son « Dying living woman » (2005), un « found footage » remanié, le personnage féminin est constamment effacé par des hachures rajoutées, « comme une flamme qui marque une absence », et qui, par sa forme, rappelle aussi les arbres de Van Gogh.

Camille Henrot
Camille Henrot. Ikebana. © Hervé Hôte

 

Reste la question de savoir s’il existe un noyau qu’on pourrait approcher, question que l’on pourrait comparer à celle que soulève Camille Henrot avec ses travaux d’Ikebana : « is it possible to be a revolutionary and like flowers ? » Est-ce la force d’attraction intacte et l’authentique et toujours enthousiasmant plaisir de voir que nous communique Van Gogh, comme il l’exprime dans une lettre à son frère Theo le 25 septembre 1888 ? « Tant que durera l’automne je n’aurai pas assez de mains, de toile et de couleurs pour peindre ce que je vois de beau.  »

1 Catalogue de l’exposition « Van Gogh Live ! »

 

 

Catalogue publié à l’occasion de l’exposition

cat. inauguration analoguesVan Gogh Live ! : inauguration

Pour l’acheter en ligne, cliquez ici

Informations pratiques :

PUBLIC

: Tous publics

Dans la même catégorie...