Rebecca Warren

Until 17 September 2017 - 11.00 AM to 07.00 PM
There Is Another Way, 2011, hand-painted bronze. Courtesy : The artist and Maureen Paley, London; and Los Angeles, 2013, hand-painted bronze. Courtesy : The artist and Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin | Paris © François Deladerrière

Rebecca Warren is a sculptor of more or less figurative, more or less expressive forms in clay, bronze and welded steel, and an orchestrator of fragments displayed often but not exclusively within wall-mounted vitrines. She works with an eye to extremes – monstrous excess, alarming paucity – creating a variety of objects that she describes as existing “somewhere on the continuum between pure fleshiness and pure cartoonishness”. Hers is a restless, sometimes contradictory art, the result of sustained contemplation of the creative impulse and the mysterious potency of images and objects.
The way in which Warren’s sculpture resonates with us owes a great deal to her heightened appreciation of framing, placement and context, how her works act and react in combination with each other or within a specific setting. Expectations – principally the assumption that meaning can be distilled from appearance – are skewered. Privileged are the more complex pleasures and peculiarities of looking.

“This experimental, slapstick collision of Giacometti and Disney, literally cast or pressed into one physical body, leaves neither unharmed. In fact Warren’s sculpture could be read as a response to culturally entrenched gender tropes – the slender modernist outline on one hand, and the Disneyish codification of cuteness and effervescence on the other hand – colliding in the real world, in real people’s lives. Warren does not merely make illustrative comments by pitting two things against each other, however. There is more at play. Sticking two things together that ‘don’t fit’ is just one possible method. Another is to duplicate (while twisting the logic of duplication); another, to alter proportion (elongate, squeeze etc.). And yet another is to use materials and conventions in unconventional ways.”1

Exhibition curator: Bice Curiger

About the artist

Rebecca Warren was born in 1965 in London, where she lives and works today. Her investigation of what constitutes sculpture – the process by which the material is shaped, the irrevocable reference to tradition, the chaos of production and ambiguous interpretations – has always favoured the tactile approach to production through which sculpture is learned, above all through the mediation of touch. Rejecting the concept of sculpture as an image that seeks to enter into a pleasing collusion with its surroundings and the viewer, Rebecca Warren works in such a way that her surfaces are never wholly alluring. Equally, a number of her sculptures with a misleadingly crude appearance are created from unfired clay (e.g. Helmut Crumb, 1998; Private Schmidt, 2004). In recent years Rebecca Warren has relinquished clay in favour of bronze. The pairing of semi-abstract figurines, as in her installation at the Fondation, is part of her sculptural grammar and can also be seen, for example, in Come, Helga (2006).

Previous exhibitions (a selection):
•    Rubens and His Legacy, Royal Academy of Arts, London, 2015
•    The Human Factor: Uses of the Figure in Contemporary Sculpture, Hayward Gallery, London, 2014
•    Riotous Baroque. From Cattelan to Zurbarán – Tributes to Precarious Vitality, Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, 2013

 

1 Jörg Heiser, Bronze Heads and Hair Bows in Rebecca Warren, Galerie Max Hetzler, Holzwarth Publications, 2012.

Practical information :

PUBLIC

: All ages

In the same category...

Rebecca Warren

Jusqu'au 17 septembre 2017 - 11H00 a 19H00
There Is Another Way, 2011, bronze peint à la main. Courtesy : L’artiste et Maureen Paley, Londres ; et Los Angeles, 2013, bronze peint à la main. Courtesy : L’artiste et la Galerie Max Hetzler, Berlin | Paris © François Deladerrière

Rebecca Warren sculpte des formes possiblement figuratives, possiblement expressives, en argile, en bronze et en acier soudé, et met en scène des fragments qu’elle expose souvent dans des vitrines murales, mais pas uniquement. Elle s’attache aux extrêmes – excès monstrueux, manque alarmant – et crée une variété d’objets qu’elle décrit comme existant « quelque part entre la pure chair et le pur dessin animé ». Son travail est bouillonnant, parfois contradictoire, résultat de la contemplation prolongée de l’impulsion créatrice et de la puissance mystérieuse des images et des objets.
L’écho que provoque en nous la sculpture de Warren doit beaucoup à sa conception aiguisée du cadrage, du positionnement et du contexte ; à la manière dont ses œuvres agissent et réagissent en se combinant les unes aux autres ou dans un cadre spécifique. Les attentes – et notamment l’hypothèse que l’on peut distiller le sens à partir de l’apparence – sont mises à mal. On préfère ici les plaisirs et les singularités plus complexes du regard.

 

 

« Cette rencontre expérimentale et burlesque entre Giacometti et Disney, littéralement coulée ou compressée dans un corps physique, ne laisse pas indifférente. On pourrait de fait considérer la sculpture de Warren comme une réponse aux topoï du genre enracinés dans notre culture – la silhouette moderniste élancée d’un côté et la normalisation à la Disney du joli et du frénétique de l’autre – s’entrechoquant dans le monde réel, dans la vie des gens réels. Mais Warren ne réalise pas seulement des illustrations critiques en montant un élément contre un autre. L’enjeu est ailleurs. Associer deux choses qui ne “ correspondent ” pas n’est qu’une méthode possible. Une consiste à dupliquer (tout en détournant la logique de la duplication) ; une autre à altérer la proportion (étirer, rétrécir, etc.). Une dernière consiste à utiliser des matériaux et des conventions de manière non-conventionnelle1. »

Commissaire de l’exposition : Bice Curiger

À propos de l’artiste

Rebecca Warren est née à Londres en 1965. Elle y vit et y travaille. Son questionnement sur ce qui fait sculpture – le processus par lequel la matière est formée, la référence irrévocable à la tradition, le chaos de la production et les interprétations équivoques – a toujours privilégié l’approche tactile de la production par laquelle la sculpture s’appréhende, surtout par l’entremise du toucher. Allant ainsi à contre-courant de la sculpture-image qui cherche à établir des connivences agréables avec le spectateur et son environnement, Rebecca Warren travaille de manière à ce que la surface ne soit jamais complètement séduisante. Aussi, nombre de ses œuvres, à l’allure faussement grossière, sont créées à partir d’argile non cuite (Private Schmidt, 2004 ; Helmut Crumb, 1998). Depuis quelques années, Rebecca Warren a délaissé l’argile en faveur du bronze. Le couplage de figurines quasi abstraites tel qu’on le retrouve dans son installation à la Fondation appartient à sa grammaire plastique ; en témoigne Come, Helga de 2006.

Précédentes expositions :
•    « Rubens and His Legacy », Royal Academy of Arts, Londres, 2015
•    « The Human Factor: Uses of the Figure in Contemporary Sculpture », Hayward Gallery, Londres, 2014
•    « Riotous Baroque. From Cattelan to Zurbarán – Tributes to Precarious Vitality », Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, 2013

 

1 Jörg Heiser, Bronze Heads and Hair Bows in Rebecca Warren, Galerie Max Hetzler, Holzwarth Publications, 2012.

Informations pratiques :

PUBLIC

: Tous publics

Dans la même catégorie...