“Mon cher…” Urs Fischer

Until 29 January 2017 - 11.00 AM to 6.00 PM

The major exhibition devoted to Urs Fischer, born in 1973 in Zurich, will be unveiled to the public on 1 October 2016. “Mon cher…” will run at the Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles for four months and aims to offer a panorama of Fischer’s artistic production since 2013: monumental as well as more intimate sculptures, paintings on aluminium panel and wallpapers. The whole is thereby inscribed within a dynamic circuit involving the movement of the visitor. 

2013_sadie_coles_overview_0143_rt_canonical
Urs Fischer, “Melodrama”, 2013. Maja Hoffmann / LUMA Foundation. Courtesy of the artist and Sadie Coles HQ, London. Photo credit: Mats Nordman

Above and beyond the power of Fischer’s organisation of space, as demonstrated, for example, by the deluge of oversize multicolour raindrops in his 400 m2 installation Melodrama (2013), the singularity of this show derives from the fact that the totality of the museum’s spaces is devoted to a single artist. Generous, ironic and arousing our empathy, Fischer’s works punctuate a route that traverses the most atypical spaces, including the front courtyard and the wood-panelled study. Among them also appears Undergrowth (1889) by Vincent van Gogh, the annual loan from the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam.

Urs Fischer’s œuvre is marked by an extraordinary tension between, on the one hand, the notion of individuality and the collective, and on the other, the evocation of traditional sculptural formats and the production of works in two dimensions in the postdigital era. This oscillation between two poles sometimes results in their overlapping, so that the visual illusion normally associated with the medium of photography also becomes a property of sculpture. 

In front of last supper (2014), a doubt emerges as to the material used. The sculpture, which is more than seven metres long, looks as if it has been modelled out of clay; it reveals the collective effort solicited in the making of the initial work, presented at The Geffen Contemporary at MOCA in Los Angeles in 2013. In a process of ennoblement that has preserved the traces of the sculpture’s genesis and the fingerprints of each participant, however, the clay has turned to bronze. The same shifts seem to operate for the eight bronze casts of reclining female nudes. Don’t they make us think of a collective sculpture studio at a fine arts academy, whose models and students have departed? All that remains are pieces seemingly still in progress – the non finito of works anchored in the past and turned towards a future. Replying to the “collective subjectivity” that infuses these sculptures, with their sensual and archaic materiality, are images characterized by hyperreality and self-portraiture. These paintings on aluminium depict parts of the artist’s body – the ear or, as in Barium (2016), the eye – encircled by silkscreened layers of coloured paint, giving the trompe-l’œil effect of impasto.

Weaving itself through the works on display is the reference to Van Gogh – whether in the title of the exhibition, the emotional charge carried by three-dimensional relief, the affirmation of highly studied colour or the ambivalence contained in the self-portrait.

About Urs Fischer

UF16001_0009_RT_canonical
Urs Fischer, “Barium”, 2016. Unique edition. Private collection. Courtesy of the artist. Photo credit: Mats Nordman

Urs Fischer is a contemporary Swiss artist born in 1973 in Zurich. Since 2004 he has lived and worked in New York.

He studied photography at the Zurich Schule für Gestaltung and subsequently in Rotterdam, a training which forged his “taste for images and their intrinsic value”1

For the artist, images are admired for their associative power, their emotional charge and their skilful illusion, properties that likewise apply to his objects in three dimensions. Thinking resolutely as a sculptor, he alternates between photography, sculpture, painting and installation. He combines this raft of artistic options with editorial projects implemented with his publishing house Kiito-San.

The exhibition space also finds itself reshaped and is understood as a place of production invested with Fischer’s expressive formal investigations, which oscillate between the playful and the dramatic. Far from operating in isolation, the artist sometimes organizes participatory situations, in which visitors are invited to contribute to the fashioning of sculptures from blocks of clay. Fischer’s most recent collaborative outdoor project is also the largest to date: this summer the artist transformed the exterior spaces of Moscow’s Garage Museum of Contemporary Art into a giant clay-modelling studio. 

As well as using natural, easily biodegradable materials such as clay, Urs Fischer also invokes innovative techniques that testify equally to his thirst for experimentation. A prolific artist, he has successfully captivated the international scene. He exhibits in many countries and his work is represented in leading public and private collections around the world.

1   Michele Robecchi in Madame Fisscher (exhibition catalogue), 2012.

Catalogue published on the occasion of the exhibition

couv-catalogue-urs-fischerMon cher… Urs Fischer

Click here to buy online

 
 

Practical information :

PUBLIC

: All ages

In the same category...

Rebecca Warren
Exhibition - All ages

Rebecca Warren

Until 17 September 2017 - 11.00 AM to 7.00 PM

« Mon cher… » Urs Fischer

Jusqu'au 29 janvier 2017

L’exposition d’envergure consacrée à Urs Fischer, né en 1973 à Zurich, sera dévoilée au public le 1er octobre 2016. « Mon cher… » se tiendra à la Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles pendant quatre mois et entend offrir un panorama des productions d’Urs Fischer postérieures à 2013 : sculptures monumentales et de format plus intime, peintures sur aluminium et papiers peints, le tout à travers un parcours dynamique impliquant le mouvement du visiteur. 

2013_sadie_coles_overview_0143_rt_canonical
Urs Fischer, « Melodrama », 2013. Maja Hoffmann / LUMA Foundation. Avec l’aimable atutorisation de l’artiste et de Sadie Coles HQ, Londres. Crédit photo : Mats Nordman

Au-delà de la puissance d’organisation de l’espace, que démontre entre autres le déluge de gouttes d’eau colorées et surdimensionnées de l’installation Melodrama (2013) sur plus de 400 m2, la singularité de cette exposition tient au simple fait que la totalité des espaces du musée sont consacrés à ce seul artiste. Généreuses, ironiques et suscitant l’empathie, ses œuvres ponctuent un parcours qui se propage jusqu’aux salles les plus atypiques, tels la cour extérieure ou un cabinet orné de boiseries. Parmi elles figure aussi Sous-bois (1889) de Vincent van Gogh, le prêt annuel en provenance du musée Van Gogh d’Amsterdam.

Le travail d’Urs Fischer est marqué par une extraordinaire tension entre, d’une part, les notions d’individualité et de collectif, et, d’autre part, l’évocation de formats sculpturaux traditionnels et la production d’œuvres en deux dimensions à l’ère postdigitale. Cette oscillation entre deux pôles entraîne parfois leur imbrication, si bien que le simulacre visuel, normalement associé à la photographie, affecte aussi le médium de la sculpture. 

Devant last supper (2014), le doute s’installe quant au matériau utilisé. L’aspect de cette sculpture de plus de sept mètres de long est propre au modelage de l’argile ; il révèle l’effort collectif sollicité pour façonner l’œuvre initiale, présentée au musée d’Art contemporain de Los Angeles (MOCA) en 2013. L’argile est devenue bronze dans un processus d’anoblissement qui a cependant gardé les traces de la genèse de la sculpture et les empreintes de chaque participant. Les mêmes glissements semblent s’opérer pour les huit sculptures en bronze moulé de femmes allongées. Ne convoquent-elles pas l’idée d’un atelier collectif de modelage d’une académie des beaux-arts qu’auraient délaissé modèles et étudiants ? De vivant, il ne resterait alors que la production qui semble s’éprouver encore, le non finito d’œuvres ancrées dans le passé et tournées vers un devenir. Face à la « subjectivité collective » insufflée dans ces sculptures marquées par une matérialité sensuelle et archaïque, répondent des images placées sous les signes de l’hyperréalité et de l’autoportrait. Ces tableaux sur aluminium, dont Barium (2016), représentent une partie du corps de l’artiste (oreille ou œil) encerclée par des couches de peinture de couleur sérigraphiées à l’effet trompeur d’empâtement.

La référence à Van Gogh se tisse, non seulement à travers le titre de l’exposition, mais aussi au gré des œuvres exposées, convoquant tantôt l’émotion du relief, l’affirmation de la couleur hautement étudiée ou l’ambivalence contenue dans l’autoportrait. 

À propos de l’artiste

UF16001_0009_RT_canonical
Urs Fischer, « Barium », 2016. Édition unique. Collection privée. Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste. Crédit photo : Mats Nordman

Urs Fischer est un artiste suisse né à Zurich en 1973. Il vit et travaille à New York depuis 2004.

Il a étudié la photographie à Zurich, à la Schule für Gestaltung, puis à Rotterdam ; un apprentissage qui a forgé son « goût pour les images et leur valeur intrinsèque1 ».

Selon l’artiste, les images sont regardées pour leur puissance associative, leur charge émotionnelle et leur illusion affirmée, autant de propriétés qui s’appliquent également à ses objets tridimensionnels. Pensant résolument en sculpteur, il alterne photographie, sculpture, peinture et installation. À ce panel de possibilités plastiques se greffent les projets qu’il conduit avec sa maison d’édition Kiito-San.

L’espace d’exposition est modelé et appréhendé comme un lieu de production investi de ses recherches formelles expressives oscillant entre le ludique et le dramatique. Loin de faire cavalier seul, l’artiste organise parfois des situations participatives au cœur desquelles les visiteurs sont invités à contribuer à la réalisation de sculptures à partir de blocs d’argile. La dernière production collective en date excède les dimensions des installations précédentes : l’artiste a transformé les espaces extérieurs de l’institution moscovite Garage Museum of Contemporary Art en atelier de poterie géant.

Outre l’utilisation de matériaux naturels facilement dégradables, telle l’argile, Urs Fischer a recours à des techniques innovantes, qui témoignent également de sa soif d’expérimentation. Prolifique, il a su captiver la scène internationale. Il expose dans de nombreux pays, et son travail est présenté dans les plus grandes collections publiques et privées.

1 Michele Robecchi in Madame Fisscher (catalogue d’exposition), 2012.

Catalogue édité à l’occasion de l’exposition

couv-catalogue-urs-fischerMon cher… Urs Fischer

Pour l’acheter en ligne, cliquez ici

Informations pratiques :

PUBLIC

: Tous publics

Dans la même catégorie...