Talk: “Pierre Huyghe, Untilled”, by Flora Katz

28 November 2017 - 7.00 PM to 8.30 PM

This talk explores Pierre Huyghe’s major work Untilled (2011–2012), an outdoor installation which the French artist created for Documenta 13. Using as our compass his working notes, seldom made public, we shall be finding our bearings in a piece designed to develop its own vitality.

Built on a compost site and open to the wind, Untilled has a very specific form: it plays with the living world and the dead, the natural and the artificial, the animal and the human, and with rhythms and times. A real dog with one foreleg painted pink, a sculpture flanked by a hive of bees – Untilled forges strange alliances by means of shifts, separations and collapses. In the course of our exploration, we shall bring in elements of art history and contemporary philosophy, in order to highlight some of the questions that Untilled poses our present, and the promises that it carries. The discussion will also extend to other major works by Pierre Huyghe, such as The Host and The Cloud (2009–2010) and After ALife Ahead (2017).

Alive entities and inanimate things, made and not made. Courtesy the artist ; Marian Goodman Gallery, New York, Paris; Esther Schipper, Berlin.

A doctoral student attached to the Institut ACTE (Arts, Créations, Théories et Esthétique – CNRS / Panthéon-Sorbonne University – Paris I), Flora Katz is also an art critic for publications (on Pierre Huyghe, Rochelle Goldberg, Eva Barto, Korakrit Arunanondchai, and Jessica Warboys, this last with Tristan Garcia) and magazines (Mouvement, Artpress). She also develops curatorial projects in France and abroad (Fondation Lafayette Anticipations, DOC, Orange Rouge, Fondation d’entreprise Ricard, etc.).

>> “Pierre Huyghe, Untilled” is the first talk in a series of lectures entitled “Exhibiting the Living World”. It will be followed by a talk on Pawel Althamer in 2018. The exhibition La Vie Simple – Simplement la vie / Songs of Alienation concludes with an installation by Pawel Althamer outside on the Fondation patio. It is the materialisation of a fantastical vision of post-apocalyptic nature, cohabited by artificial plants, living plants and parrots. The presence of this imaginary nature in the heart of the city offers us an opportunity to reflect on the way in which the living world is perceived by institutions and artists.

 

Practical information :

PUBLIC

: Adults

DURATION

: 7pm—8.30pm

PRICE

: Free Entrance

Conférence : « Pierre Huyghe, Untilled », par Flora Katz

28 novembre 2017 - 19H00 à 20H30

Cette conférence proposera un cheminement dans Untilled (2011–2012), œuvre majeure que Pierre Huyghe a conçue pour la Documenta 13. Avec comme boussole les notes de travail de l’artiste, rarement portées au regard du public, il s’agira de s’orienter dans une pièce conçue pour développer une vitalité propre.

Construite sur un compost, au gré du vent, Untilled a une forme bien spécifique jouant avec le vivant et la mort, le naturel et l’artificiel, l’animal et l’humain, les rythmes et les temps. Un chien à patte rose, une sculpture flanquée d’un nid d’abeilles : Untilled noue d’étranges alliances, par décentrements, séparations, effondrements. Tout en avançant dans sa description, des fils seront tirés depuis l’histoire de l’art et la philosophie contemporaine afin de mettre en lumière certaines des questions que cette pièce pose à notre présent, et les promesses qu’elle porte. D’autres œuvres majeures seront abordées, telles The Host and The Cloud (2009–2010) et After ALife Ahead (2017).

Entités vivantes et choses animées, fabriquées ou non.
Courtesy : l’artiste, Marian Goodman Gallery, New York, Paris; Esther Schipper, Berlin.

Doctorante associée à l’institut ACTE (Arts, créations, théories et esthétique – CNRS / Université Paris I), Flora Katz mène une activité de critique d’art pour des publications (sur Pierre Huyghe, Rochelle Goldberg, Eva Barto, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Jessica Warboys – avec Tristan Garcia) et des revues (Mouvement, Artpress). Elle développe en parallèle des projets curatoriaux en France et à l’étranger (Fondation Lafayette Anticipations, DOC, Orange Rouge, Fondation d’entreprise Ricard, etc.).

>> La conférence « Pierre Huyghe, Untilled » s’inscrit dans un cycle de conférences intitulé « Exposer le Vivant ». Elle sera suivie d’une conférence de Pawel Althamer courant 2018. Le parcours de l’exposition « La Vie Simple – Simplement la vie » se termine par une installation à ciel ouvert de Pawel Althamer, matérialisation de la vision fantasmée d’une nature post-apocalyptique où cohabitent plantes artificielles, plantes naturelles et perruches. La présence en ville de cette nature rêvée nous donne l’occasion de penser la manière dont le vivant est appréhendé par les institutions et les artistes.

Informations pratiques :

PUBLIC

: Adultes

DURÉE

: 19h-20h30

TARIF

: Entrée libre dans la limite des places disponibles

Dans la même catégorie...