My Van Gogh with Thibault Franc

05 September 2017 - 7.00 PM to 8.00 PM

 Van Gogh – The Revenant

My Van Gogh is not ill, nor mad, nor even brilliant. He is dead. This characteristic – fairly widespread among artists born in the 19th century – takes on special significance in his case, since Vincent van Gogh seems to have become the most living dead person in Arles.

Thibault Franc, “Le mort le plus vivant d’Arles”, 2014

Before becoming a visual artist, I was interested in legends, in anthropology and to some extent in occultism. I am familiar with revenants, whether the ones in the Icelandic sagas or the zombies of Haiti. In 2015 I published my second novel, Temps mort, which is about the difficulty of returning. For the cover, we used a self-portrait of an undead Van Gogh, created for the Zombies exhibition held in 2014 at the Collectif E3 gallery. Since my arrival in Arles, the painter-pilgrim has inspired me to make several works on the theme of the rejected Vincent’s return to the city. The fantasy figure of the deceased fits naturally into a city of wind and sun that is also built on top of a large necropolis.

One year ago the Fondation asked me to create a set of drawings about the presence of Van Gogh in Arles, including even in promotional merchandising goodies. I find this popular appropriation of Van Gogh’s person fascinating: a commercial sacrilege that is at time ridiculous. But I also propose to consider it a form of haunting. Because it is not easy to get rid of a revenant. This latter is defined by an enormous appetite and by the impossibility of satiating its emptiness. As an artist, I cannot help but explore this living absence, this paradoxical presence – rather like touching with your tongue the gap left by an extracted tooth. Masked or unmasked, my gaunt Van Gogh staggers along the road, his face changing like those of apparitions. A mighty painter afflicted by a bad death, he becomes a spirit that we can invoke, a Loa voodoo painting, a fetish. There is nothing morbid or depressing in this colourful carrion: on the contrary, humour, life and detachment take root in it, so as to transform the soil of a tomb into the fresh blossom of an almond tree.

Born in 1976 in Bordeaux near the Public Garden, in a district populated with birds, carp, old men and gardeners, Thibault Franc studied philosophy. Rather than turn to teaching, he experiments with other modes of interaction and other forms of knowledge, through botany, martial arts, trips to Africa, and a studio at street level, first in Bordeaux and then in Arles. His artistic and literary creations serve as apprehensions of a fragmented world. Through his assemblages of related images or composite objects, he attempts to reverse entropy and contain centrifugal forces. His delight in misappropriating words, forms and objects is not indulged at random, but is consciously anchored in a geographical region and around its local mythologies.

Practical information :

PUBLIC

: All ages

PRICE

: Free entry

In the same category...

Mon Van Gogh avec Thibault Franc

05 septembre 2017 - 19H00 à 20H00

 Van Gogh – Le revenant

Mon Van Gogh n’est pas malade, ni fou, ni même génial. Il est mort. Cette caractéristique, assez répandue chez les artistes nés au xixe siècle, prend chez lui une valeur particulière, parce que Vincent van Gogh semble devenu le mort le plus vivant d’Arles.

Thibault Franc, « Le mort le plus vivant d’Arles », 2014

Avant de devenir plasticien, je me suis intéressé aux légendes, à l’anthropologie, à l’occultisme parfois. Les revenants me sont familiers, qu’ils soient ceux des sagas islandaises, ou les zombies d’Haïti. En 2015, j’ai publié mon deuxième roman, Temps mort, qui traite de la difficulté du retour. Pour la couverture, nous avons choisi d’utiliser un autoportrait de Van Gogh en mort-vivant, réalisé pour l’exposition « Zombies » en 2014 à la galerie du Collectif E3. Depuis mon arrivée à Arles, le peintre marcheur m’a inspiré de nombreuses oeuvres en lien avec ce retour en ville du refoulé. La figure fantasmée du trépassé prend sa place naturelle dans une ville de vent et de soleil, mais qui est aussi bâtie sur une grande nécropole.

Il y a un an, la Fondation m’a demandé de travailler sur une série de dessins autour de la présence de Van Gogh à Arles, jusque dans les goodies, objets dérisoires du merchandising. C’est cette appropriation populaire du personnage que je trouve fascinante, sacrilège marchand parfois ridicule, mais que je propose de considérer aussi comme une forme de hantise. Car il n’est pas facile de se débarrasser d’un revenant. Un énorme appétit le définit, l’impossibilité d’apaiser le vide. En tant qu’artiste je ne peux m’empêcher d’explorer cette absence vivante, cette présence paradoxale, comme on touche de la langue une dent arrachée. Masqué, démasqué, mon Van Gogh hagard titube sur les routes, son visage est changeant comme celui des apparitions. Peintre puissant touché par une mauvaise mort, il devient un esprit que l’on peut invoquer, un Loa vodoun peinture, un fétiche. Rien de morbide ou de déprimant dans cette charogne colorée ; au contraire, l’humour, la vie, le détachement y plongent leurs racines, pour transformer la terre d’un tombeau en fleurs nouvelles d’amandier.

Né en 1976 à Bordeaux près du Jardin Public, dans un quartier peuplé d’oiseaux, de carpes, de vieillards et de jardiniers, Thibault Franc a fait des études de philosophie. Plutôt que de se tourner vers l’enseignement, il expérimente d’autres modes de relation, d’autres formes de connaissance, à travers la botanique, les arts martiaux, les voyages en Afrique, l’atelier de plain-pied sur la rue, à Bordeaux puis à Arles. Ses créations plastiques ou littéraires sont autant d’appréhensions d’un monde fragmenté. Par ses assemblages, images liées ou objets composites, il tente de renverser l’entropie, contenir les forces centrifuges. Ce goût pour le détournement des mots, des formes et des objets ne s’exerce pas au hasard, mais à travers l’ancrage conscient dans un territoire, autour de ses mythologies locales.

Informations pratiques :

PUBLIC

: Tous publics

TARIF

: Entrée libre, dans la limite des places disponibles

Dans la même catégorie...