Pfff : readings & performances around the breath

with

Théo Casciani
Chris Cyrille-Isaac
Jérôme Girard

THURSDAY 7 APRIL, 6.30-7.30PM
Free Entrance, the readings are held in French

On the occasion of the publication of the catalogue of the exhibition “Souffler de son souffle (Breathing One’s Breath)”, the author Théo Casciani, the poet Chris Cyrille-Isaac and the artist Jérôme Girard will take turns to lead us into the different corners of contemporary breaths – starting with that of a strange bagpipe with a truculent and organic aesthetic… This instrument by Jérôme Girard irrigates an entire sound environment. A giant lung powered by an automatic blower, the canvas sculpture gradually inflates, inspires and blows. It announces the readings of Théo Casciani, who will return to his original text “Pfff”, and that of Chris Cyrille-Isaac, who will start from the mangrove tree and the violence of cou-poésie to take us to a different space-time.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Jérôme Girard, Pneuma, 2021, toile vinylique, PVC, soufflerie, dimensions variables

Biographies des participants

 

Théo Casciani is an author. Rétine, his first novel, was published by P.O.L in 2019. His texts have been published in several magazines such as AOC and Klima and presented in institutions such as the Kyoto Art Center or the Centre Pompidou. Some of his works have been translated into several languages and recently gave rise to the  seminar “Speculor” organised by ENSAV de La Cambre and the Université libre de Bruxelles. He is currently writing a romance novel to be published in 2023.

Chris Cyrille-Isaac is a poet, art critic and freelance exhibition designer with an interest in Caribbean philosophies and aesthetics. He is a member of AICA (International Association of Art Critics) and has been awarded the Dauphine Prize for Contemporary Art (2017), the Prix Jeune Commissariat at the 69th edition of Jeune Création, and the AICA Prize in 2020. He curated the exhibition “– Mais le monde est une mangrovité (But the world is a mangrove)” in 2021 at the Jeune Création gallery, and is co-directing the publication of the catalogue (Rotolux, 2022).

As a visual artist and musician, sound is at the heart of the work of Jérôme Girard, a graduate of the École national supérieure des Arts décoratifs. He invests and appropriates traditional skills to make musical instruments that immerse spectators in real environments where wandering allows the soundtrack of the space to vary. He was recently a resident at the Casa de Velázquez in Madrid.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Pfff : lectures & performances autour du souffle

avec

Théo Casciani
Chris Cyrille-Isaac
Jérôme Girard

JEUDI 7 AVRIL, 18H30-19H30
Entrée libre

À l’occasion de la parution du catalogue de l’exposition « Souffler de son souffle », l’auteur Théo Casciani, le poète Chris Cyrille-Isaac et l’artiste Jérôme Girard interviendront tour à tour, nous entraînant dans les différents recoins des souffles contemporains – à commencer par celui d’une étrange cornemuse à l’esthétique truculente et organique… Cet instrument de Jérôme Girard irrigue tout un environnement sonore. Poumon géant alimenté par une soufflerie automatique, la sculpture en toile se gonfle peu à peu, inspire, souffle. Elle annonce les lectures performées de Théo Casciani, qui reviendra sur son texte inédit « Pfff », et celle de Chris Cyrille-Isaac, qui partira du palétuvier, un arbre des mangroves, et des violences de la cou-poésie pour nous emmener dans un espace-temps différent.

Jérôme Girard, Pneuma, 2021, toile vinylique, PVC, soufflerie, dimensions variables

Biographies des participants

 

Théo Casciani est auteur. Rétine, son premier roman, a paru aux éditions P.O.L en 2019. Ses textes ont été publiés dans plusieurs revues comme AOC et Klima et présentés dans des institutions telles le Kyoto Art Center ou le centre Pompidou. Certains de ses travaux ont été traduits dans plusieurs langues et ont récemment donné lieu au séminaire « Speculor » organisé entre l’ENSAV de La Cambre et l’Université libre de Bruxelles. Il écrit actuellement un roman d’amour à paraître en 2023.

Poète, critique d’art et conteur d’exposition indépendant, Chris Cyrille-Isaac s’intéresse aux philosophies et esthétiques caribéennes. Il est membre de l’AICA (Association internationale des critiques d’arts) et a reçu le prix Dauphine pour l’Art contemporain (2017), le Prix Jeune Commissariat de la 69e édition de Jeune Création, et le Prix AICA en 2020. Il a réalisé le commissariat de l’exposition « – Mais le monde est une mangrovité » en 2021 à la galerie Jeune Création, et codirige la publication du catalogue (Rotolux, 2022).

Plasticien et musicien, le son est au cœur du travail de Jérôme Girard, diplômé de l’École national supérieure des Arts décoratifs. Il investit et s’approprie des savoir-faire artisanaux pour fabriquer des instruments de musique qui plongent les spectateur·rices dans de véritables environnements où la déambulation permet de faire varier la bande son de l’espace. Il a récemment été pensionnaires à la Casa de Velázquez à Madrid.