Saskia Olde Wolbers

Saskia Olde WolbersYes, These Eyes Are the Windows

Shown in conjunction with the preceding exhibitions at the Fondation from February to April 2016, the film Yes, These Eyes Are the Windows (2015) by Saskia Olde Wolbers is once again being presented in its own room.

This film revisits the unusual past of the house at 87 Hackford Road in the Brixton area of south London where Van Gogh lived from 1873 to 1874. On the basis of his letters and different accounts relating to his brief stay in this terraced house, Saskia Olde Wolbers creates a video piece combining fantasy with realism, in which her free interpretation of the facts mingles with elements of reality.

The house, in the role of narrator, unfolds a fiction about the layers of myth that have settled upon the artist and about his ghostly influence on the fate of the house and its subsequent owners. Organic and talkative, this storyteller built of bricks and wood conducts us into its universe of fluid outlines, a mosaic of visual and documentary elements.

The work Yes, These Eyes Are the Windows is the fruit of a production in two stages. It was first presented in 2014 as a site-specific audio installation in Van Gogh’s house in Brixton, as the culmination of a two-year collaboration with the London-based art association Artangel. In 2015 it was then created as a film, in which form it is now being shown in Arles.

Curators of the exhbition: Bice Curiger and Julia Marchand

About the artist

Dutch artist Saskia Olde Wolbers, born in 1971 and living in the UK, has been working with video since the mid-1990s.

Her short productions are meticulously elaborated microcosms that blend fictional scenarios, documentary facts and fantastical environments. Sustained by a narrative that is delivered – anonymously and out of sync – by an off-screen voice, and which attests to the artist’s fascination with the transmission of histories, these videos mirror the question as to the credibility of today’s profusion of information. Simultaneously aerial and aquatic, Saskia Olde Wolbers’s fluid universe oscillates between utopia and nightmare: like images in a darkroom, these stories prove to be at once reality and illusion.

Represented in numerous museums, collections, galleries and public spaces, Saskia Olde Wolbers has won multiple awards.

Photo credits: Yes, These Eyes are the Windows, 2015, 18 min HD video for projection. Voice over Tom Brooke © the artist, courtesy Maureen Paley, London

Catalogue published on the occasion of the exhibition

couv. catalogue saskia olde wolbers fvvga 2016Saskia Olde Wolbers, Yes These Eyes Are the Windows

Click here to buy online

 

In the same category...

Saskia Olde Wolbers

Jusqu'au 11 septembre 2016 - 11H00 à 19H00

Saskia Olde WolbersYes, These Eyes Are the Windows

Montré lors des expositions précédentes de février à avril 2016, le film Yes, These Eyes Are the Windows (2015) de Saskia Olde Wolbers est de nouveau présenté dans l’une des salles de la Fondation. Ce film revient sur le passé insolite du 87 Hackford Road, dans le quartier de Brixton à Londres, où vécut Van Gogh de 1873 à 1874. À partir de ses lettres et de différents récits relatifs à son court séjour dans cette maison, Saskia Olde Wolbers nourrit son récit de réalisme autant que de fantastique, et sa libre interprétation des faits s’entremêle aux éléments du réel.

La maison, devenue narratrice, déroule une fiction sur la mythification de l’artiste et son emprise fantomatique sur le destin du lieu et de ses propriétaires. Conteuse de pierre et de bois, organique et bavarde, elle nous entraîne dans son univers aux contours flous, mosaïque d’éléments plastiques et documentaires.

Yes, These Eyes Are the Windows est le fruit d’une production en deux temps : au terme de deux années de collaboration avec Artangel, association d’art londonienne, une installation audio est présentée en 2014 in situ, dans la maison de Van Gogh à Brixton ; puis en 2015, le film éponyme est réalisé. Il est aujourd’hui montré à Arles.

Commissaires de l’exposition : Bice Curiger et Julia Marchand

À propos de l’artiste

Saskia Olde Wolbers, artiste néerlandaise née en 1971 et résidant au Royaume-Uni, travaille avec la vidéo depuis le milieu des années 1990.

Ses courtes productions, microcosmes méticuleusement élaborés, mêlent scénarios fictionnels, éléments documentaires véridiques et environnements fantastiques. Soutenues par la narration de voix off — anonymes et décalées — attestant la fascination de l’artiste pour la transmission d’histoires, ces vidéos font écho à la question de la crédibilité des informations, si profuses aujourd’hui. L’univers fluide, à la fois aérien et aquatique, oscille entre utopie et cauchemar, et ces contes se révèlent comme les images dans la chambre noire, à la fois réalité et illusion.

Présente dans de nombreux musées, collections, galeries et espaces publics, Saskia Olde Wolbers a reçu de multiples prix.

Crédits photo : Yes,These Eyes Are the Windows, 2015, vidéo HD, 18 min. Voix off Tom Brooke © l’artiste, avec l’aimable autorisation de Maureen Paley, London

Catalogue édité à l’occasion de l’exposition

couv. catalogue saskia olde wolbers fvvga 2016Saskia Olde Wolbers, Yes These Eyes Are the Windows

Pour l’acheter en ligne, cliquez ici

 

Informations pratiques :

PUBLIC

: Tous publics

Dans la même catégorie...

Rebecca Warren
Exposition - Tous publics

Rebecca Warren

Jusqu'au 17 septembre 2017 - 11H00 à 19H00