Roni Horn: “Butterfly to Oblivion”

Until 20 September 2015

RH4200_A_4507285_MAT

Roni Horn is one of the most important artists of today. In Arles she is presenting large-format works on paper and photographs alongside three new glass sculptures that fill the gallery space. Glass is experienced in her powerful cylindrical sculptures as a fascinatingly translucent volume, as a block of matter that one moment ago was liquid and is now solid. These sculptures reveal to our gaze an inner life infused with light and a subtle play of colour.

Drawing is the basis for Roni Horn’s artistic activities. In her large works on paper and photographs, we see the traces and interfaces of a structure determining the image. They are the result of Horn’s cutting up and then reassembling of drawn forms and thick loops of pigment on paper, or of photographic figures such as the series of white, blurred clown faces with eerie, luminous red mouths. A shimmering optical play, surprisingly rich in suggestion and at times unsettling, is thereby kindled on the pictorial surface in a staccato rhythm of image formation.

Roni Horn’s art always revolves, too, around language, poetry and literature. She thereby often works with writers, such as Hélène Cixous and Anne Carson. In Arles Roni Horn is showing her latest series of drawings, Hack Wit , in which she cuts up English idiomatic expressions in order to make, from two familiar figures of speech, one that is strange and new. Letters and words are scraps that join together in the resulting expression in wild poetry, dancing between meaning and absurdity, recognition and virgin territory. Thus the title of the exhibition, “Butterfly to Oblivion”, goes back to the mutual assimilation of “A butterfly broken on the wheel” and “Consign to oblivion”.

Exhibition curator: Bice Curiger

Roni Horn’s biography

Born in 1955 in New York, Roni Horn graduated from Rhode Island School of Design in 1975 and from Yale University in 1978 with a masters in sculpture. Over the years her mostly solitary experiences in the more remote landscapes of Iceland have become an important influence in her life and work. Horn’s earliest works are conceptually based on sculpture. Literature has also been a strong influence, something especially evident in her sculptures, which are often paired, as are her photographs and drawings.

Since the early 1980s Horn has also worked in photography, books and drawing. Her photographic portraits have taken the form of large installations using sequenced or grouped images or books.

Horn has received numerous awards, including three NEA Fellowships, a Guggenheim Fellowship (1990), the Alpert Award (1998) and the Joan Miró prize (2013). 

Previous exhibitions (a selection)

• La Caixa, Madrid, 2014
• Fundació Joan Miró, Barcelona, 2014
• Kunsthaus Bregenz, Bregenz, 2010
• Whitney Museum, New York, 2010
• Tate Modern, London, 2009
• Rencontres de la photographie Arles, Fondation Luma & Collection Lambert, 2009
• Centre Pompidou, Paris, 2003
• DIA Center for the Arts, New York, 2001
• Castello di Rivoli, Turin, 2000
• Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, 1999
• Venice Biennale, 1997

Credits:
If 2, 2011
Powdered pigment, graphite, charcoal, coloured pencil and varnish on paper, 250.8 x 257.8 cm
Courtesy: Colección Júmex, Mexico

Hack Wit—armed to bud, 2014
Watercolour, pen and ink, gum arabic on watercolour paper, cellophane tape, 61.6 x 38.7 cm
Courtesy: the artist and Hauser & Wirth

Catalogue published on the occasion of the exhibition

couv catalogue roni hornRoni Horn: Butterfly to Oblivion

Click here to buy online

Practical information :

PUBLIC

: All ages

DURATION

: Open every day from 11am to 7pm (last admission at 6.15pm)

In the same category...

Rebecca Warren
Exhibition - All ages

Rebecca Warren

Until 17 September 2017 - 11.00 AM to 07.00 PM

Roni Horn : « Butterfly to Oblivion »

Jusqu'au 20 septembre 2015

RH4200_A_4507285_MATRoni Horn appartient au cénacle des grands artistes contemporains. Elle présente à Arles de grands formats sur papier, des photographies ainsi que trois nouvelles sculptures en verre qui emplissent l’espace. Le verre des sculptures cylindriques monumentales révèle des volumes translucides fascinants, le sortilège d’une matière liquide devenue désormais matière solide. Ces sculptures offrent leur vie intérieure au regard, dévoilent à nos sens les subtils jeux de la lumière et des couleurs.

Le dessin demeure le fondement de la production artistique de Roni Horn. On reconnaît sur les grandes feuilles de papier et les photographies les traces et les interfaces d’une structure déterminante. Ces dessins sur papier sont nés du découpage et de la réunification de formes et de boucles réalisées avec d’épaisses traces de pigments ou de figures photographiques, à l’instar de ces visages de clowns flous avec leur bouche d’un rouge lumineux, troublant. Un jeu optique scintillant s’anime sur la surface, surprenant, surnaturel même, riche d’allusions, rythmé tel un staccato de l’image en devenir.

L’art de Roni Horn gravite toujours autour du langage, de la poésie et de la littérature. Elle travaille souvent avec des écrivains, comme Hélène Cixous ou Anne Carson. À Arles, Roni Horn présente sa nouvelle série de dessins, « Hack Wit », constituée d’expressions anglaises découpées de telle manière que deux n’en forment plus qu’une. Les lettres et les mots sont des lambeaux qui se reforment en poésie sauvage, ondoyant entre sens et absurdité, passant de retrouvaille en découverte. Ainsi, le titre de l’exposition « Butterfly to Oblivion » est un jeu de mots reprenant d’une part l’expression « A butterfly broken on the wheel » (littéralement : « tirer au canon sur les moineaux » ou « écraser une mouche avec un marteau ») et d’autre part : « Consign to oblivion » (« s’abandonner à l’oubli »).

Commissaire de l’exposition : Bice Curiger

Biographie de Roni Horn

Née à New York en 1955, Roni Horn sort diplômée de la Rhode Island School of Design en 1975, puis de l’Université de Yale en 1978, où elle obtient un Master en sculpture. Au fil des années, ses voyages, pour la plupart solitaires, dans les contrées les plus reculées d’Islande ont exercé un rayonnement important sur sa vie et son œuvre. Les premiers travaux de Roni Horn s’appuient conceptuellement sur la sculpture. La littérature a elle aussi une forte influence, que l’on perçoit particulièrement dans ses sculptures, qui fonctionnent souvent par paires, comme le font ses photographies et ses dessins. 

Depuis le début des années 1980, Roni Horn travaille également dans le champ de la photographie, des livres et du dessin. Ses portraits photographiques se présentent sous la forme de grandes installations faites d’images ou de livres séquencés ou groupés. 

Roni Horn a reçu de nombreux prix, dont trois bourses du National Endowment for the Arts, une bourse du Guggenheim en 1990 ainsi que le prix Alpert en 1998 et le prix Joan Miro en 2013. 

Précédentes expositions (sélection)

• Biennale de Venise, 1997
• Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, 1999 
• Castello di Rivoli, Turin, 2000
• DIA Center for the Arts, New York, 2001 
• Centre Pompidou, Paris, 2003
• Rencontres de la photographie Arles, Fondation Luma & Collection Lambert, 2009
• Tate Modern, Londres, 2009
• Whitney Museum, New York, 2010
• Kunsthaus Bregenz, Bregenz, 2010
• Fundació Joan Miró, Barcelone, 2014 
• La Caixa, Madrid, 2014

Crédits photos :
If 2, 2011
Pigment en poudre, graphite, fusain, crayon de couleur et vernis sur papier, 250,8 x 257,8 cm
Courtesy : Colección Júmex, Mexico

Hack Wit—armed to bud, 2014
Aquarelle, encre à la plume, gomme arabique sur papier aquarelle, ruban adhésif, 61,6 x 38,7 cm
Courtesy : l’artiste et Hauser & Wirth

Catalogue publié à l’occasion de l’exposition

couv catalogue roni hornRoni Horn : Butterfly to Oblivion

Pour l’acheter en ligne, cliquez ici

Informations pratiques :

PUBLIC

: Tous publics

DURÉE

: Ouvert tous les jours de 11h à 19h (dernière admission à 18h15)

Dans la même catégorie...