Laura Owens & Vincent van Gogh

from 19 June to 31 October 2021

In summer 2021 the Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles will present an exhibition bringing together new works by the American artist Laura Owens with seven paintings by Van Gogh, most made in and around Arles.

 

Laura Owens, Untitled, 1997              
Acrylic and modelling paste on canvas,
243,8 × 304,8 cm (96 × 120 in)
Courtesy: the artist; Sadie Coles HQ, London; Galerie Gisela Capitain, Cologne
Whitney Museum of American Art, New York
Promised gift of Thea Westreich Wagner and Ethan Wagner

 

 

Vincent van Gogh, Hospital at Saint-Rémy,
Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, October 1889
Oil on canvas, 92.2 × 73.4 cm (36.3 × 28.9 in)
Gift of the Armand Hammer Foundation
Hammer Museum of Art, Los Angeles
© The Armand Hammer Collection

Owens is one of the most celebrated American artists working today. For twenty-five years she has asked probing questions about the parameters of painting. She has expanded painting’s possibilities by breaking through the boundaries between painting and other fields of visual and material culture such as embroidery, design, children’s illustrations and digital drawing. In this exhibition, Owens’s works will host and respond to Van Gogh’s paintings. Owens spent most of 2020 living in and around Arles, and her new work comes out of meticulous research into the history of the city and of Van Gogh’s connections here.

Like most artists, Owens has known Van Gogh’s work since she was a child, and she has looked at his art in various ways throughout her career. One of her breakthrough paintings, now in the collection of the Whitney Museum of American Art, Untitled (1997), shows black birds over a seascape, reminiscent of Van Gogh’s Wheatfield with Crows (1890). Owens’s conceptual use of dramatic impasto, especially since 2012, recalls the textures of Van Gogh’s best known works.

The seven Van Gogh paintings to be shown at the Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles include loans from museums with which Owens has a deep connection. Hospital at Saint-Rémy (1889) comes from the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles, the city where she lives when not in Arles. Other key loans include The Fields, painted in Auvers-sur-Oise shortly before Van Gogh died.

Laura Owens has often addressed the spaces where she has exhibited. Many early works responded to the architecture of a gallery; more recently, Owens has installed canvases as sculptural objects and embedded paintings within gallery walls. For this exhibition she has created a vast painting, in the form of a unique hand-painted and silkscreened wallpaper installation, which will cover the entire walls of the rooms where the Van Gogh works will be exhibited. Many of the motifs in the wallpaper come from designs made by Winifred How, who worked in London as an artist and designer shortly after Van Gogh was alive. Owens discovered an archive of How’s work in Los Angeles while considering the invitation to make this show in Arles. Aware of Van Gogh’s incredible fame and the total obscurity of another artist from nearly the same period, she chose to celebrate How’s work in hosting Van Gogh’s.

The exhibition will feature several artist’s books inspired by Van Gogh’s letters and work, including a book about each of the paintings borrowed for the exhibition. These books are intricate sculptural objects with complex fold-outs, and viewers will have the opportunity to open them out to discover their contents. The books will be exhibited on specially made tables. The tables have hidden features which might make the books move around them in an intimate but magical spectacle. The books also draw from Owens’s research into the cholera pandemic in the second half of the nineteenth century, an event that resonates with the circumstances during her 2020 stay here.

Van Gogh’s interest in setting up an artists’ community in Arles is echoed in Owens’s career-long efforts to create spaces for other artists to exhibit. In collaboration with Maja Hoffmann and LUMA Arles, Laura Owens has also started a parallel project in Arles. She has turned an apartment building, located in the town centre, into a studio and living quarters for artists who will spend short residencies there; this space will slowly be filled with their, and her art.


Co-curated by Bice Curiger (artistic director of the Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles) and Mark Godfrey (British art historian, critic, and curator), the exhibition will share how Laura Owens explores the images, colours and methods of Van Gogh, creating a conceptual framework for her investigations.             

                                                                                        

LAURA OWENS
Laura Owens (b. 1970) has been acclaimed as one of the leading painters of her generation. She was born in Ohio and studied at the California Institute of the Arts, Valencia, and the Rhode Island School of Design, Providence. She lives and works in Los Angeles. Owens was recently the subject of a mid-career retrospective at the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York (2017–2018), which travelled to the Dallas Museum of Art (2018) and the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (2018–2019), and featured some sixty paintings.
Owens is recognized for her wide-ranging and experimental approach to the medium of painting – an approach that embraces a breadth of sources from the avant-garde to the pop cultural to the decorative.
Her recent solo exhibitions include those at the CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts, San Francisco (2016); Secession, Vienna (2015); and Kunstmuseum Bonn (2011).

 

VINCENT VAN GOGH (1853-1890)
Vincent van Gogh was born on 30 March 1853 in Groot-Zundert in the Netherlands. At the age of sixteen he joined Goupil & Cie, a firm of art dealers in The Hague, and subsequently worked in the company’s offices in Brussels, London and finally Paris. He gradually lost interest in the commercial art world and, in 1878–1879, he became a lay preacher in a mining community in the Borinage area of Belgium.
In August 1880 Van Gogh decided to become an artist. He wanted to be a painter of everyday life, and, above all, of peasant life, following in the footsteps of artists such as Jean-François Millet. Landscapes and still lifes, too, became an important part of his oeuvre. In Paris in 1886 he discovered Japanese prints and met some of the Impressionist artists.
Convinced that colour was the key to modernity, Van Gogh left for Provence in search of bright light and vibrant colours. Dreaming of establishing a community of artists, in February 1888 he settled in Arles. Gauguin joined him in October, but their collaboration collapsed in late December of that year. Disappointed and ill, in May 1889 Van Gogh admitted himself to a psychiatric hospital in
Saint-Rémy, where he remained for a year. He continued with his search for an expressive art based on colour and brushstrokes, creating more than 500 paintings and drawings during his 27 months in Provence.
In May 1890 Van Gogh moved to Auvers-sur-Oise, where in just over two months he produced the final 70 paintings of an oeuvre that comprises more than 2,000 works. He died on 29 July 1890 at the age of 37.
Van Gogh’s artistic genius and the poignant story of his life transformed him into a veritable international icon.

 

Vincent van Gogh, Dandelions, Arles, April 1889
Oil on canvas on cardboard, 35.5 × 57 cm (14 × 22.4 in)
Gift of Herbert and Charlotte Wolfer-de Armas, 1973
Kunst Museum Winterthur
© Kunst Museum Winterthur

Laura Owens & Vincent van Gogh

du 19 juin au 31 octobre 2021

Durant l’été 2021, la Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles présente une exposition réunissant de nouvelles œuvres de Laura Owens, l’une des artistes américaines les plus connues de sa génération, et sept tableaux de Van Gogh, pour la plupart exécutés à Arles et aux alentours.

Depuis vingt-cinq ans, Laura Owens interroge les paramètres du médium pictural, dont elle élargit les possibilités en abattant les frontières qui le séparent d’autres disciplines de la culture visuelle et matérielle, telles que la broderie, le design, l’illustration pour enfants et le dessin numérique. Pour cette exposition, ses créations feront écho aux tableaux de Van Gogh et noueront un dialogue avec eux. Laura Owens a passé la majeure partie de l’année 2020 à Arles et dans ses environs, et ses dernières œuvres sont le fruit de recherches approfondies sur l’histoire de la ville et sur les liens qu’y a tissés Van Gogh.

Comme la plupart des artistes, Laura Owens a découvert l’œuvre de Van Gogh dans son enfance et n’a cessé de s’y référer de différentes façons au cours de sa carrière. Sans titre (1997), l’une des œuvres qui l’a fait connaître, aujourd’hui conservée dans la collection du Whitney Museum of American Art, représente des oiseaux noirs planant sur la mer, qui évoquent le Champ de blé aux corbeaux (1890) de Van Gogh. L’emploi conceptuel d’un impasto aux accents dramatiques, en particulier depuis 2012, rappelle la texture des plus célèbres tableaux de l’artiste néerlandais.

Certains des sept Van Gogh qui seront exposés à la Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles sont prêtés par des musées avec lesquels Laura Owens entretient des liens profonds. Hôpital à Saint-Rémy (1889) provient du Hammer Museum à Los Angeles, ville où elle réside quand elle n’est pas à Arles. Parmi les autres prêts exceptionnels figure Les Champs, toile peinte par Van Gogh à Auvers-sur-Oise à la toute fin de sa vie.

Laura Owens accorde beaucoup d’importance aux lieux où elle expose. Ses premières œuvres dialoguaient souvent avec l’architecture des galeries ; plus récemment, l’artiste a installé ses toiles comme s’il s’agissait de sculptures et incorporé ses peintures aux murs des espaces d’exposition. Pour la Fondation, elle a créé un immense tableau : un papier exceptionnel, peint à la main et sérigraphié, qui recouvrira les murs des salles où seront présentées les œuvres de Van Gogh. De nombreux motifs de ce papier peint reprennent des dessins de Winifred How. Alors qu’elle réfléchissait à la proposition d’exposition à Arles qui lui était faite, Laura Owens a découvert dans des archives à Los Angeles le travail de cette dessinatrice active à Londres peu après la mort de Van Gogh. Mesurant l’incroyable célébrité du peintre néerlandais face à l’obscurité totale d’une autre artiste qui lui était quasiment contemporaine, Laura Owens a décidé de rendre hommage à l’œuvre de Winifred How en en faisant la toile de fond de celle de Van Gogh.

L’exposition mettra également à l’honneur plusieurs livres d’artiste inspirés par les lettres et l’œuvre de Van Gogh, dont un pour chaque tableau prêté. Le visiteur pourra découvrir leur contenu en les ouvrant et en dépliant leurs pages subtilement animées.  Véritables sculptures de papier, ces ouvrages seront présentés sur des tables fabriquées pour l’occasion, qui cacheront des dispositifs permettant de les mettre en mouvement, pour une expérience à la fois intime et magique. Ces livres se nourrissent aussi des recherches de Laura Owens sur l’épidémie de choléra de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle, qui fait écho aux circonstances de son séjour arlésien en 2020.

Le rêve de Van Gogh de fonder une communauté artistique à Arles rejoint les initiatives prises par Laura Owens tout au long de sa carrière pour créer des espaces d’exposition ouverts à d’autres artistes. En partenariat avec Maja Hoffmann et LUMA Arles elle a lancé un projet similaire à Arles, transformant un immeuble du centre-ville en atelier et logements pour des artistes en résidence, dont les œuvres – et les siennes – empliront peu à peu le lieu.

Co-organisée par Bice Curiger (directrice artistique de la Fondation) et Mark Godfrey (historien de l’art britannique, critique et conservateur), l’exposition dévoilera la façon dont Laura Owens explore les images, les couleurs et les techniques de Van Gogh, qui offrent un cadre conceptuel à ses recherches.

LAURA OWENS
Laura Owens (née en 1970) est l’une des peintres les plus acclamées de sa génération. Née dans l’Ohio, elle a étudié au California Institute of the Arts de Valence et à la Rhode Island School of Design de Providence. Elle vit et travaille à Los Angeles.
Son travail a récemment fait l’objet d’une rétrospective au Whitney Museum of American Art à New York (2017-2018), qui a ensuite voyagé au Dallas Museum of Art (2018) puis au Museum of Contemporary Art à Los Angeles (2018-2019), avec une soixantaine de tableaux datant des années 1990 à nos jours.
Owens est reconnue pour son approche variée et expérimentale du médium de la peinture – un travail qui englobe une variété de références, allant de l’avant-garde à la culture populaire en passant par le décoratif.
On compte parmi ses expositions récentes celles au CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts (San Francisco, 2016), à Sécession (Vienne, 2015) et au Kunstmuseum Bonn (2011).

 

VINCENT VAN GOGH (1853-1890)
Vincent van Gogh naît le 30 mars 1853 à Groot-Zundert, aux Pays-Bas. À 16 ans, il est employé par la société de négoce d’art Goupil & Cie à La Haye, puis travaille pour les filiales de Bruxelles, Londres et Paris. Se désintéressant du commerce artistique, il se tourne vers la religion et se fait prédicateur laïc en Belgique, de 1878 à 1879. Il décide de devenir artiste en août 1880.
Il se veut le peintre de la vie quotidienne, notam- ment paysanne, et s’inspire, entre autres, de Jean-François Millet. Paysages et natures mortes définissent aussi son oeuvre. En 1886, il découvre à Paris l’art de l’estampe japonaise, et côtoie les artistes du mouvement impressionniste.
Convaincu que la couleur est la clé de la modernité, Van Gogh part en Provence chercher la lumière et les couleurs éclatantes. Rêvant d’y créer une communauté artistique, il s’installe à Arles en février 1888. Gauguin le rejoint en octobre mais, fin décembre, leur collaboration s’avère impossible. En mai 1889, déçu et malade, Van Gogh demande à intégrer un hôpital à Saint-Rémy-de-Provence.
Il y demeure une année, poursuivant sa recherche d’un art expressif, basé sur la couleur et la touche.
Durant ces vingt-sept mois passés en Provence, Van Gogh produit plus de 500 tableaux et dessins.
En mai 1890, il part pour Auvers-sur-Oise où, en l’espace de deux mois, il peint les 70 derniers tableaux d’une oeuvre qui comptera plus de 2 000 pièces. Il meurt le 29 juillet 1890 à l’âge de 37 ans.
Son génie artistique et son tragique destin font de lui une véritable icône internationale.

//

Ci-dessus : deux vues de l’exposition
Laura Owens, Untitled [Sans titre], 2021
Peinture à l’huile, acrylique, aquarelle, pastel, encre pour sérigraphie, flocage et sable coloré  sur papier peint couché à l’argile
Courtesy : l‘artiste et Sadie Coles HQ, Londres
Photos : Annik Wetter
avec dans la deuxième photo : 
Vincent van Gogh, Fermes près d’Auvers, juin 1890
Huile sur toile, 50,2 × 100,3 cm
Legs de C. Frank Stoop, 1933
Tate Britain, Londres
© Tate, London 2019

 

Laura Owens, Untitled [Sans titre], 1997          
Acrylique et modelling paste sur toile, 248,8 × 304,8 cm
Courtesy : l’artiste ; Sadie Coles HQ, London ; Galerie Gisela Capitain, Cologne
Promesse de don de Thea Westreich Wagner et Ethan Wagner
Whitney Museum of American Art, New York

Vincent van Gogh, Hôpital à Saint-Rémy, Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, Octobre 1889
Huile sur toile, 92,2 × 73,4 cm
Collection Armand Hammer, don de la Fondation Armand Hammer
Hammer Museum of Art, Los Angeles
© The Armand Hammer Collection

Vincent van Gogh, Les Pissenlits, Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, avril 1889
Huile sur toile, 35,5 × 57 cm
Don d’Herbert et Charlotte Wolfer-de Armas, 1973
Kunst Museum Winterthur
© Kunstmuseum Winterthur