… et labora

NEW EXHIBITION FROM 16 NOVEMBER 2019

PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THE RUTH + PETER HERZOG COLLECTION

WORKS BY MIKA ROTTENBERG, YURI PATTISON,
EMMANUELLE LAINÉ, ANDREAS GURSKY, MICHAEL HAKIMI,
THOMAS STRUTH, LIU XIAODONG, CYPRIEN GAILLARD

EX-VOTO FROM PROVENCE

   

On 16 November 2019 the Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles opens its new thematic exhibition titled …et labora. Around one hundred photographs dating from the nineteenth and early twentieth century, issuing from the spectacular collection of Ruth and Peter Herzog, constitute the starting point for this exploration of the theme of work. These rare images, assiduously collected over the years, bear powerful witness to Van Gogh’s epoch as well as to the roots of the social realities at the start of the 1900s, a period of booming industrialisation.
The black and white analog photographs – prints and postcards, some anonymous, others by celebrated photographers – document, among other things, the transformation of Europe’s major cities into megalopolises, the mechanisation of agriculture, the objectification of the worker in service to the factory, and also the development of tourism and leisure. This selection of photographs thus sketches the outlines of an entire bygone era.

These are complex documents, capturing fragments of realities while at the same time revealing the different facets of the contemporary lens trained upon a rapidly mutating world. These images are joined in the exhibition by other modes of representation of labour. Borrowing from the codes of the burlesque and docufiction, the works of contemporary artists such as Mika Rottenberg, Yuri Pattison and Emmanuelle Lainé transpose the theme into a more dreamlike and speculative space. Photographers Andreas Gursky and Thomas Struth confront us with images whose transcription of reality fascinates us as much as it escapes us: appealing both to our reason and to our sensibility, these pictures thus forcefully interrogate our perception.
Thanks to their proximity to history photography, the works of Liu Xiaodong, Gursky and Struth explore the transformation of activities and workspaces, resulting from the globalisation of services that is drastically changing the value of employment. Cyprien Gaillard’s excavator heads evoke the persistence of our relationship towards the earth as one of domination and exploitation, as well as the ceaseless transformation of cities.

 

As in the exhibition La Vie Simple – Simplement la Vie / Songs of Alienation (01.10.17–02.04.18) presented previously at the Fondation, …et labora includes works of folk art in the shape of votive paintings from the nineteenth and twentieth century. Representations of accidents – whether in relation to transport, work, or seafaring – make up a considerable proportion of these, and increased steadily during the nineteenth century. Arising out of a simple and direct act of faith, these ex-votos nevertheless reflect the secularisation of mentalities, discernible through the evolution in their iconography. This movement away from the religious sphere echoes in the title of the exhibition, an updated variant of the phrase “Ora et labora” (“Pray and Work”).

Exhibition curator: Bice Curiger
with Julia Marchand, associate curator
and Margaux Bonopera, assistant curator

 

The Vincent van Gogh Arles Foundation thanks the three institutions in which the Ruth + Peter Herzog collection is housed, and thanks to which we can present this exhibition: the Herzog Foundation (Basel), the Jacques Herzog und Pierre de Meuron Kabinett (Basel) and the Swiss National Museum (Zurich).

> Opening on 15 November at 6.30pm <<

 

  

Captions:

Fredy Pletscher, Portrait of a farmer in the middle of hay-cutting, with a white cloth on his head, c. 1940. Silver gelatin print. Collection Ruth et Peter Herzog. Courtesy : Musée National Suisse, Zurich.
Liu Xiaodong, South, 2012. Oil on canvas, 250 × 300 cm, Guggenheim Abu Dhabi © Liu Xiaodong
Andreas Gursky, Tokyo Stock Exchange, 1990. C-print / Diasec, 170 × 205 × 5 cm Kunstmuseum Basel, Suisse. Dépôt de l’artiste en 2004 Avec l’aimable autorisation de Sprüth Magers
Anonymus ex-voto, Marseille – Musée des civilisations de l’Europe et de la Méditerranée © Mucem
Theo Ballmer (1902-1965), Manufacture of an automobile, Basel, c. 1939. Silver gelatin print. 21 × 29,6 cm Collection Ruth et Peter Herzog. Courtesy : Musée national suisse, Zurich
Emmanuelle Lainé, Incremental Self – Transparent Bodies, 2017. Courtesy of the artist

… et labora

NOUVELLE EXPOSITION À PARTIR DU SAMEDI 16 NOVEMBRE 2019

PHOTOGRAPHIES DE LA COLLECTION RUTH + PETER HERZOG

ŒUVRES DE MIKA ROTTENBERG, YURI PATTISON,
EMMANUELLE LAINÉ, ANDREAS GURSKY, MICHAEL HAKIMI,
THOMAS STRUTH, LIU XIAODONG, CYPRIEN GAILLARD

EX-VOTO PROVENÇAUX

 

   

 

Le 16 novembre 2019, la Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles inaugurera sa nouvelle exposition thématique intitulée « … et labora ». Une centaine de photographies datant du XIXe siècle et du début du XXe siècle issues de la collection de Peter et Ruth Herzog constituent le point de départ de cette exploration du thème du travail. Ces images rares, collectées avec acuité au fil des ans, offrent de puissants témoignages sur l’époque de Van Gogh ainsi que sur les racines des réalités sociales du début du siècle dernier.
Les photographies argentiques en noir et blanc – tirages papier ou cartes postales, anonymes ou de photographes renommés – rendent compte entre autres de la transformation des grandes villes européennes en mégalopoles, de la mécanisation du travail agricole, de l’objectivation de l’ouvrier au service de l’usine ou encore du développement du tourisme et du loisir. C’est ainsi tout une époque qui se dessine en creux de la sélection de photographies.

À ces parcelles de réalités, captées par la photographie alors pensée comme outil documentaire, sont associés d’autres modes de représentations du travail. Empruntant aux codes du burlesque ou du docufiction, les œuvres d’artistes contemporains tels Mika Rottenberg, Yuri Pattison et Emmanuelle Lainé transposent ce thème dans un espace plus onirique et spéculatif. Les photographes Andreas Gursky et Thomas Struth nous mettent face à des œuvres dont la retranscription de la réalité nous fascine autant qu’elle nous échappe : faisant appel à la fois à notre raison et à notre sensibilité, elles interrogent ainsi puissamment notre perception.
Grâce à leur proximité avec la photographie d’histoire, les œuvres de Liu Xiaodong, Gursky et Struth sondent la mutation des activités et des espaces de travail, résultant de la globalisation des services qui modifie drastiquement la valeur de l’emploi. Les têtes excavatrices de Cyprien Gaillard évoquent quant à elles la persistance de notre rapport de domination et d’exploitation de la Terre, mais aussi la transformation incessante des villes.

Dans la continuité de l’exposition « La Vie simple – Simplement la vie » (01.10.17 – 02.04.18) précédemment présentée, « … et labora » convie des œuvres d’art populaires, à travers l’inclusion d’ex-voto des XIXe et XXe siècles. La représentation d’accidents – de circulation, du travail, de navigation – y occupent une place considérable, qui n’a cessé de croître durant le XIXe siècle. Nées d’un geste simple et direct de foi, ces peintures reflètent pourtant la laïcisation des mentalités, perceptible à travers leurs évolutions iconographiques. Ce retrait de la sphère religieuse imprègne le titre de l’exposition, variante actualisée de la formule « Ora et labora » (« Prie et travaille »).

Commissaire d’exposition : Bice Curiger
avec Julia Marchand, curatrice adjointe
et Margaux Bonopera, assistante curatrice

 

  • La Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles remercie les trois institutions dans lesquelles est conservée la collection Ruth + Peter Herzog,
    et grâce auxquelles nous pouvons présenter cette exposition :
    la Fondation Herzog (Bâle),
    le Jacques Herzog und Pierre de Meuron Kabinett (Bâle)
    et le Musée national suisse (Zurich).

 

 

   

 

Légendes :

Fredy Pletscher, Portrait d’un paysan lors des foins, un linge blanc sur la tête, vers 1940, tirage gélatino-argentique. Collection Ruth et Peter Herzog. Courtesy : Musée National Suisse, Zurich.
Liu Xiaodong, South, 2012 Huile sur toile, 250 × 300 cm Guggenheim Abu Dhabi © Liu Xiaodong
Andreas Gursky, Tokyo Stock Exchange, 1990 C-print / Diasec, 170 × 205 × 5 cm Kunstmuseum Basel, Suisse. Dépôt de l’artiste en 2004 Avec l’aimable autorisation de Sprüth Magers
Ex-voto anonyme, Marseille – Musée des civilisations de l’Europe et de la Méditerranée © Mucem
Theo Ballmer (1902-1965), Fabrication d’une automobile, Bâle, vers 1939 Tirage gélatino-argentique, 21 × 29,6 cm Collection Ruth et Peter Herzog. Courtesy : Musée national suisse, Zurich
Emmanuelle Lainé, Incremental Self : les corps transparents, 2017. Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste