Art as a family – with Pascale Breysse

Illustrated self-portrait

I like to say that illustrating is putting words into pictures; it is having a framework and enjoying yourself within in until you are ready to leave it, in complete freedom, without falsifying the subject but by enriching it. It is in this spirit that you will be invited to create an illustration: a portrait, your portrait, through an animal connected with the work of Niko Pirosmani.

Drawing, cutting out, playing with forms of expression, ways of seeing, with papers, colours, scissors… All these means will be at the service of your inner feeling, your emotions and your individuality. An original and singular translation will be born and will be combined as an adult-child duo into a diptych.

 

Pascale Breysse, a children’s illustrator and visual artist who has followed an atypical career, lives in her native Avignon. Her art mainly focuses on the living world, the link uniting humans and nature, and life in its holistic aspect. She draws inspiration from everyday life, from study, from poetry and, since 2013, from digital technology, which marked a turning point in her work as an illustrator. She has illustrated some twenty books and audio CDs for children; a new children’s book, 11 ours, will be published in September 2019 by L’Initiale.

 

 

In the same category...

L’art en famille – avec Pascale Breysse – Autoportrait illustré

Autoportrait illustré

J’aime dire qu’illustrer, c’est mettre des mots en images ; c’est avoir un cadre et s’y amuser jusqu’à en sortir, en toute liberté, sans dénaturer le propos mais en l’enrichissant. C’est dans cet esprit que vous serez invité à réaliser une illustration : un portrait, votre portrait à travers un animal en lien avec l’œuvre de Niko Pirosmani.

Dessiner, découper, jouer avec l’expression, le regard, les papiers, couleurs, ciseaux… Tous les moyens seront au service de votre ressenti intérieur, de votre émotion, de votre parfum. Une traduction originale et singulière naîtra et sera associée par binôme adulteenfant en un diptyque.

Pascale Breysse, illustratrice jeunesse et plasticienne au parcours atypique, vit à Avignon où elle est née. Sa recherche artistique questionne principalement le vivant, le lien unissant l’humain et la nature, la vie dans son aspect holistique. Elle se nourrit du quotidien, de recherches, de poésie et, depuis 2013, du numérique, qui marque un tournant dans son travail d’illustration. Elle a une vingtaine de parutions à son actif ; un nouvel album, intitulé 11 ours, sortira en septembre 2019 aux éditions L’Initiale.