Yan Pei-Ming: Night of Colours

From 20 September 2014 to 17 May 2015, the Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles held two new exhibtions – Yan Pei-Ming’s “Night of Colours” and Bertrand Lavier’s “L’affaire tournesols” [The tournesols/sunflowers affair] – with Vincent van Gogh’s painting Self-portrait with Pipe and Straw Hat, 1887.

Night of Colours

Salle d'exposition Yan Pei-Ming
View of Yan Pei-Ming’s exhibition hall, “Prie-Dieu II”, “Prie-Dieu III”, “Prie-Dieu IV”, “Chemin de croix”. © Yan Pei-Ming, ADAGP, Paris, 2014. Photo credit: André Morin

Yan Pei-Ming, "Chemin de croix"

Yan Pei-Ming, “Chemin de croix”, 2014. Oil on canvas, 200 x 400 cm. Courtesy: Massimo De Carlo, Milan/Londres and Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, Paris/Salzbourg. Photo credit: André Morin © Yan Pei-Ming, ADAGP, Paris, 2014

 

 

 

 

 

Born in 1960 in Shanghai, Yan Pei-Ming arrived in France in 1980. At that time, the diaspora of artists fleeing China, where the theory of Socialist Realism reigned, separated into two groups. The first installed itself provisionally in New York; while the other – which included prominent individuals such as Chen Zhen, Huang Yong Ping, Wang Du and Yan Pei-Ming – reassembled permanently in Paris. In 2005 Yan Pei-Ming’s native city devoted a major one-man show to the artist, who has established himself in the West as one of the leading painters of his generation.

Yan Pei-Ming’s art is that of a “moderniser”. Secular, outside ideology, the brush in his hand extends, with its speed of execution, what Romantic painting in the first half of the 19th century had imagined but was unable to turn fully into reality: namely that the saturation of the picture should overtake the subject in terms of priority. Romanticism’s partial failure nevertheless left the door open, from around 1870 onwards, for another solution that was long considered more radical, namely the gradual disappearance of the subject altogether – a development that would sanction the birth of abstraction after 1910.

Yan Pei-Ming’s exhibition at the Fondation evokes the melodic qualities of a nocturne . Just as Arles – from the narrowness of the artist’s bedroom to the infinite breadth of the starry night sky – constituted the matrix of an exceptional artistic moment for Vincent van Gogh, so in the visual narratives by Yan Pei-Ming the (hi)story painter, it is the World itself, brought so close by the circulation of information. In a new departure within Yan Pei-Ming’s painting, which is usually determined by black and white, we now see colours insinuating themselves into the artist’s palette. These colours render his compositions iridescent or take possession of them, yet without ever diminishing their power to evoke the fears aroused by darkness and night. Suddenly, the artist’s work is taking its due share of colour and fully espouses its subjectivity.

It is as if – in order to make room for the presences and events that it is constantly energizing and so allow them to flourish – Yan Pei-Ming’s painting had created the approximate conditions for a ritual of exorcism. That of the spectres and demons that are released, whatever we may think and do, by the inescapable patronage of this exhibition by the Dutch painter suicidé.

Xavier Douroux, exhibition curator for “Night of Colours”, Joint manager of the Consortium of Dijon and founder of the Presses du réel

Yan Pei Ming’s biography

Yan Pei-Ming (born in Shanghai in 1960) grew up in the civil war atmosphere of the end of the Cultural Revolution. He arrived in France in the early 1980’s and settled in Dijon, where he studied at the School of Fine Arts, then at the Institut des hautes études en arts plastiques in Paris.

Yan Pei-Ming is known for his huge dichromatic portraits painted with sweeping brush strokes, often saturated with black, white and sometimes red. As a portraitist interested in current affairs, he paints in close-up the faces of popular and political figures such as Chairman Mao and Barack Obama, while also making more intimate portraits.

Catalogue published on the occasion of the exhibition

Mise en page 1Yan Pei-Ming: Night of Colours

Click here to buy online

In the same category...

Yan Pei-Ming : Night of Colours

Jusqu'au 17 mai 2015

Du 20 septembre 2014 au 17 mai 2015, la Fondation Vincent van Gogh Arles a présenté deux expositions inédites — « Night of Colours » de Yan Pei-Ming et « L’affaire tournesols » de Bertrand Lavier — avec le tableau de Vincent van Gogh Autoportrait à la pipe et au chapeau de paille, 1887.

Night of Colours

2494-11
Vue de la grande salle de l’exposition Yan Pei-Ming, « Prie-Dieu II », « Prie-Dieu III », « Prie-Dieu IV », « Chemin de croix ». © Yan Pei-Ming, ADAGP, Paris, 2014. Crédit photo : André Morin
Yan Pei-Ming, "Chemin de croix"
Yan Pei-Ming, ‘Chemin de croix’, 2014. Huile sur toile, 200 x 400 cm. Courtesy : Massimo De Carlo, Milan/Londres et Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, Paris/Salzbourg. Crédit photo : André Morin © Yan Pei-Ming, ADAGP, Paris, 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Né en 1960 à Shanghai, Yan Pei-Ming arrive en France en 1980. À cette époque, la diaspora des artistes fuyant une Chine où règne la théorie du réalisme socialiste se sépare en deux groupes. L’un s’installe provisoirement à New York ; l’autre, riche de personnalités telles que Chen Zhen, Huang Yong Ping, Wang Du et Yan Pei-Ming, se rassemble durablement à Paris. En 2005, sa ville natale consacra une importante exposition personnelle à celui qui s’est imposé en Occident comme l’un des plus grands peintres de sa génération.

L’art de Yan Pei-Ming est celui d’un « modernisateur ». Séculier, hors idéologie, son bras prolonge avec la vitesse de l’exécution ce que le romantisme pictural de la première moitié du XIXe  siècle avait imaginé sans pouvoir le réaliser pleinement : le dépassement de la priorité accordée au sujet par sa saturation picturale. Un demi-échec qui laissera la porte ouverte, dans le dernier tiers du siècle, à une autre solution, longtemps considérée plus radicale, à savoir sa progressive disparition — celle que viendra consacrer la naissance de l’abstraction après 1910. 

L’exposition de Yan Pei-Ming à la Fondation s’invente comme un nocturne . Si Arles, de l’étroitesse de sa chambre à l’amplitude infinie de la nuit étoilée, a su constituer pour Vincent van Gogh la matrice d’un moment artistique d’exception, c’est le Monde, rendu si proche par la circulation de l’information, qui gravite dans les récits d’images de Yan Pei-Ming, peintre d’histoire(s). Alors que le noir et blanc détermine sa portée habituelle, voilà que les couleurs s’insinuent, irisent la composition ou s’emparent du tableau sans jamais retirer leur puissance évocatrice aux angoisses de la nuit. Du coup, l’oeuvre de l’artiste prend sa part de couleur et en assume l’entière subjectivité.

C’est comme si, pour laisser place à l’épanouissement de ses propres présences et événements qu’elle n’a de cesse d’énergiser, la peinture de Yan Pei-Ming avait réuni là les conditions approximatives d’un rituel d’exorcisation. Celui des spectres et démons que libère, quoi qu’on en pense et quoiqu’on fasse, le parrainage obligé du peintre hollandais suicidé.

Xavier Douroux, commissaire de l’exposition « Night of Colours ». Codirecteur du Consortium à Dijon et fondateur des Presses du réel

Biographie de Yan Pei-Ming

Yan Pei-Ming (né à Shanghai en 1960) grandit dans l’ambiance de la guerre civile de la fin de la Révolution culturelle. Il arrive en France au début des années 1980 et s’installe à Dijon, où il étudie à l’école des Beaux-Arts, puis à l’Institut des hautes études en arts plastiques de Paris.

Yan Pei-Ming est connu pour ses immenses portraits bichromatiques peints à grands coups de brosse, souvent saturés de noir, de blanc, et parfois de rouge. En portraitiste qui s’intéresse à l’actualité, il peint en gros plan les visages de figures populaires et politiques, et réalise également des portraits plus intimes.

Catalogue publié à l’occasion de l’exposition

Mise en page 1Yan Pei-Ming : Night of Colours

Pour l’acheter en ligne, cliquez ici

Informations pratiques :

PUBLIC

: Tous publics

Dans la même catégorie...

Rebecca Warren
Exposition - Tous publics

Rebecca Warren

Jusqu'au 17 septembre 2017 - 11H00 a 19H00